Replacing a Lost License in New MexicoPage Overview
- Applying for a Duplicate License in New Mexico
- License Replacement While Out of State
- Reporting a Missing License in New Mexico
- Changing Your Driver's License Information
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/07/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Replacing a New Mexico Driver's License
You will need to replace your New Mexico driver's license if it is lost, stolen, or damaged. If you are stopped by an officer and do not have it on you, you could be fined, have points added to your driving record, or in some cases, your driver's license could be revoked.
Continue reading this page to find out how to get a replacement driver's license from the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
NOTE: If you need to replace a lost or stolen CDL in New Mexico, you can start by reading our page about Replacing a Lost CDL.
You can replace your lost, stolen, or damaged driver's license in New Mexico:
- In person.
You can make a request with the NM MVD to keep the same driver's license number. You'll be issued a temporary driver's license and receive a hard copy of your driver's license with the same number in the mail.
You can request a duplicate driver's license online using the New Mexico Online Driver License/ID Renewal system IF you:
- Renewed your New Mexico driver's license in person the last time it was due for renewal.
- Are 18 to 74 years old.
- Have your Social Security number on file with the MVD.
- Have not experienced changes to your mental or physical health, or to your vision.
- Do NOT want a new driver's license number.
You will need to provide the following information:
- Your NM driver's license number.
- Your Social Security number.
- A major credit card or debit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover) for the replacement fee:
- $18 for 4 years.
- $34 for 8 years.
You can print out a temporary driver's license to use until your duplicate license arrives by mail.
To replace a lost or stolen New Mexico driver's license in person, you can simply visit any MVD field office and fill out an application. You will need to bring the following:
- Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate or other approved document.
- Proof of Social Security number, such as your Social Security card or other accepted document.
- 2 documents for proof of residency, such as a utility bill, a bank statement, or other approved documents.
- Payment for the replacement driver's license:
- $18 for 4 years.
- $34 for 8 years.
- Free, if you are 75 years old or older.
You will get a temporary New Mexico driver's license which will be mailed to you.
Request a New Driver's License Number
If you are concerned about identity theft and want a new driver's license number, you will need to go in person to replace your NM driver's license.
In addition to the documents listed above, you will also need to provide both of the following:
- A police report OR the police report number AND the responding officer's business card.
- A statement with your signature that says you want a new New Mexico driver's license number because yours was lost or stolen.
For information about replacing your driver's license while you are located out-of-state, you can call (888) 683-4636. You may need to take a trip to your local MVD office when you return to New Mexico.
New Mexico has an enhanced driver's license that has a bevy of security features. However, if your NM driver's license was stolen along with a wallet or purse, you will need to contact the authorities immediately to report the theft and quickly begin measures to protect yourself from the possibility of identity theft or someone just racking up charges on your credit cards.
Make sure to file a police report, and contact the MVD to request that a flag be placed on your file, in the event that someone fraudulently attempts to obtain a new license without your knowledge.
If you've recently moved or changed your name, you'll need to update your information with the Motor Vehicle Division. Visit our pages on Changing Your Name and Changing Your Address for information on the documents to bring and steps to complete.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section