- Location: New Mexico
Registration Renewal in New MexicoCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
Vehicle Registration Renewal in New Mexico
This page provides details about renewing your New Mexico vehicle registration with the NM Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). You can renew your registration online, by phone, by mail, or in person.
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division will mail you a renewal notice approximately 65 days before your car registration expires. You must renew your registration on time or you will be charged additional penalty fees.
You do not need your renewal notice in order to renew your vehicle registration. To check the status of your registration renewal, call (888) 683-4636.
NOTE: The NM MVD allows you to renew your registration up to 67 days prior to its expiration date.
The New Mexico MVD can process your registration renewal:
- By phone.
- In person.
- By mail.
To renew your vehicle registration in New Mexico online, visit the NM Online Vehicle Registration Renewal page and provide your:
- Control number (found on your NM renewal notice).
- License plate number and vehicle identification number (VIN).
- Vehicle model year and owner name.
- Payment for your renewal fee. See “Fees for NM Registration Renewal” below.
The New Mexico MVD will mail your updated registration documents within 10 business days.
NOTE: If you renew online, you will receive a 5% discount off of your base registration fee.
To renew your NM vehicle registration by phone, call the New Mexico Integrated Voice Response (IVR) System (available 24 hours a day) at (888) 683-4636 and enter your:
- License plate number or control number (found on your renewal notice).
- Credit card information. See “Fees for NM Registration Renewal” below for specific fee information.
NOTE: If you renew by phone, you will receive a 5% discount on your base registration fee.
By Mail or In Person
To submit your New Mexico registration renewal by mail or in person, you will need:
- Your registration renewal notice from the NM MVD.
- Payment. See “Fees for NM Registration Renewal” below.
Take your form and payment to your local NM MVD office, or mail them to:
Registration Renewal Section
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 25129
Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129
NOTE: When you take your form in person to the NM MVD, you can either renew with a MVD officer or by using a self-service kiosk.
Vehicle registration renewal fees for passenger vehicles will differ depending on the length of your renewal.
The MVD provides a complete list of registration renewal fees in New Mexico.
NOTE: If you renew your NM vehicle registration online or by phone, you will receive a 5% discount.
1 Year Renewal
A 1 year renewal in New Mexico will cost you $33 in total, which includes the following fees:
- Base registration fee: $27.
- Administrative fee: $2.
- Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act: $2.
- Highway beautification: $.50.
- Tire recycling: $1.50.
2 Year Renewal
A renewal for 2 years will cost you $64 in total, which includes the following fees:
- Base registration fee: $54.
- Administrative fee: $2.
- Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act: $4.
- Highway beautification: $1.
- Tire recycling: $3.
Accepted Payment Methods
For online, by-phone, or self-service kiosk transactions, payment can be made by the following credit cards*:
- American Express.
If you are renewing your vehicle registration by mail, you must pay by check. Do NOT send cash or credit card information.
For in-person renewals, NM MVD field offices accept payment by cash or check.
* Credit card transactions will incur an additional $1.25 processing fee.
If you’re going to be located outside of New Mexico when your car registration expires, you may renew online or by phone. See “Renew Your NM Vehicle Registration” above.
If your vehicle is out of state and you need to have it tested for emissions before you can renew, you may be able to apply for a time extension. See “Vehicle Inspections in New Mexico” below.
If you have any questions about your specific situation, contact the New Mexico MVD.
Emission testing (also known as “smog testing”) is required every 2 years or when the vehicle changes ownership in Bernalillo County only. This only applies to vehicles more than 4 years old.
If you’re a resident of Bernalillo County or commute into this county more than 60 days per year, you must be able to show proof your vehicle has passed an New Mexico emissions inspection test.
Out-of-State Emissions Testing
If your vehicle is outside of New Mexico, you will still need to have it tested. However, if emissions testing is not available in your area, you will need:
- A completed Affidavit of Vehicle Unavailability for Inspection.
- Include all required MVD documents outlined in this form.
Send the above to the address specified on the form.
The Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Vehicle Pollution Management Division will approve your application and forward your documents/payment to the NM MVD.
For more information, contact the City of Albuquerque Pollution Management Division at (505) 764-1110 and visit our page on Smog & Emission Checks in New Mexico.
To order a replacement New Mexico vehicle registration document, call the NM MVD at (888) 683-4636 and enter your credit card details for the $5 replacement fee.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸