Pay Traffic Ticket in New Mexico
Depending on where you received your traffic ticket in New Mexico, you may be able to pay your fine online, by mail, by phone, or in person. Refer to your NM traffic ticket or contact the county court for specific details on payment methods. Be sure to verify if you're required in court.
Keep reading for more details on your ticket payment options in New Mexico.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
- Possible option to attend driver improvement school and reduce points.
Learn more below.
Paying a New Mexico traffic ticket is an admission of guilt. This means:
- You have forfeited your right to challenge the NM traffic ticket in court.
- The violation will appear on your driving record, possibly causing a jump in your car insurance rates.
- The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) will assign points to your driving record.
- Additional points on your driving record may lead to a suspended or revoked NM driver's license.
- You may have the option to attend a court-approved driver improvement school. Course completion can help reduce points on your NM driving record.
Failing to pay the traffic ticket comes with repercussions. The NM MVD will suspend your New Mexico driver's license and the presiding court may issue a bench warrant for your arrest.
Pleading Guilty as New Mexico CDL Holder
You must, by law, notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic violation conviction. This applies to all situations. Even if you're ticketed for speeding in another state while driving your own car, you'd still need to notify your boss.
Check out New Mexico's Commercial Driver License Manual for a complete list of rules and regulations.
Pleading Not Guilty
In New Mexico, you also own the right to challenge the traffic citation in court by pleading not guilty. Presenting a solid defense may sway the court to reduce charges or even dismiss the ticket.
If the traffic ticket's "Penalty Assessment" box is checked, you may pay the posted fine without appearing in court. However, you'll need to pay your ticket fines to the New Mexico MVD directly.
On the other hand, if the ticket's "Court Appearance" or "Traffic Arraignment" box is checked, you must first appear in court before submitting any type of payment. Detailed explanations will be posted on your NM traffic citation.
If you cannot find your traffic citation, read what to do in our Lost Traffic Ticket section.
If the citation's "Penalty Assessment" box is checked and you elect to admit guilt by paying the traffic ticket, be sure to act before the due date, which is posted on the citation. Ticket due dates vary by county and town, but usually range from 15 to 30 days starting from the traffic ticket's issue date. Refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate NM county court for specific details.
Depending on the presiding court, you may have the following ticket payment options: by mail, in person, online, and by phone. Payment options will be explained on the back of the traffic ticket.
Pay a NM Ticket Online
A few traffic courts in New Mexico offer the online ticket payment option. You will need a valid credit card.
Pay Your NM Ticket by Mail
Read your NM traffic ticket for detailed instructions on how to submit your ticket payment. Mail your payment and ticket to the NM court address listed on the traffic citation. Be sure to write the citation number on your check or money order.
Paying a NM Ticket in Person
Deliver your ticket payment in person to the court listed on the NM traffic ticket. Play it safe and call ahead of time. Ask about accepted forms of payment (some courts may not accept credit cards) and if the traffic court requires proof of identification.
Pay Your NM Ticket by Phone
Some traffic courts may allow ticket payment over the phone, which requires a valid credit card. Contact the specific court if you don't find instructions on your actual traffic citation.
Depending on your situation, attending a driving improvement school approved by the court will spare your New Mexico driving record of additional points.
It's always smart to check your New Mexico driving record for accuracy after getting cited. Immediately notify the NM MVD if you detect any errors with points or listed traffic violations.
Increased auto insurance premiums usually coincide with a NM traffic ticket on your driving record. You can always counter increased premiums by shopping for a new car insurance provider. Comparing car insurance rates online is a fast and easy way to find coverage that meets your needs and fits your budget.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!