Safety Laws in New Jersey
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Headlights must be turned on:
- From 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
- In inclement weather, when visibility reduces to 500 feet or less.
- Whenever your windshield wipers are in use.
Modulating headlights are permitted during the daytime.
When riding at night, your bicycle must have:
- A front white light visible from at least 500 feet.
- A red rear light visible from at least 500 feet.
Helmets are required for all riders.
Helmets are required for all riders 16 and younger.
- The use of hand-held cell phones is prohibited while driving.
- School bus drivers can use cell phones only during emergencies.
- Any drivers younger than 21 who hold a graduated license permit or a provisional license are prohibited from using a hands-free cell phone.
- Text messaging while driving is illegal.
- Kids eight and younger who weigh less than 80 pounds must ride in the backseat properly secured in a child safety seat or booster. If the vehicle does not have a backseat, the child may ride in the front while properly secured in an appropriate seat.
- Kids that are younger than eight, but weigh more than 80 pounds may be secured with a properly fastened seat belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
- Kids between eight and 18 must wear seat belts regardless of weight.
- All drivers 18 and older must wear a seat belt while riding in the front seat.
Call #77 (New Jersey's Aggressive Driver System) if you suspect a driver of being drunk or a road threat. Provide the driver's license plate number, vehicle make and model, location, and travel direction. Do not try to stop the vehicle on your own.
Dial 911 if you suspect an unattended child left in a vehicle is in danger from excessive heat or cold. Remain with the vehicle, if possible, until authorities arrive.
Call the local police department or animal control unit if you feel an unattended pet inside a vehicle is at risk.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.