Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Registration Renewal in New Jersey

    Registering a car?

    It's a good time to check car insurance rates

    Find the lowest rate among top providers.

    Introduction

    You must renew your vehicle (car, truck, motorcycle) annually with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).

    First-Time Registration?

    The following is for renewing your NJ vehicle’s registration. If you’ve just bought a car or moved into the state, visit our Car Registration page for first-time registration information.

    New Jersey Registration Renewal Notice

    As a reminder that your plate decals are about to expire, the MVC will send a renewal notice that includes:

    • Your renewal fee (see below)
    • Your registration renewal due date
    • Your personal identification number (PIN), if eligible for online renewal
    • An enclosed envelope for renewing by mail

    Didn’t Receive a NJ Registration Renewal Notice?

    If you didn’t receive a registration renewal notice, you can still renew in person (see below). If you'd like to learn why you didn't receive your notice, contact the MVC by e-mail or calling (609) 292-6500.

    Have you recently moved? Make sure the MVC has your new address on file, otherwise future MVC correspondence will be sent to your old address.

    NJ Registration Renewal

    Renew in Person

    Renewing your New Jersey registration in person guarantees same-day service, and is required if you aren't eligible for online or mail renewal. To renew, visit your local MVC office with:

    • Proper identification
    • One of the following documents:
      ―NJ registration renewal notice
      ―Current registration certificate
      ―License plate number
    • Proof of car insurance
    • Cash, check, money order or credit card (American Express, Visa, MasterCard) to pay renewal fee

    Renew Online

    To renew your NJ plates online, you'll need to have a renewal notice that includes a PIN located on the bottom right-hand corner. Once online, provide:

    • Your PIN
    • Your Social Security number
    • Proof of car insurance
    • Credit card information (American Express, Visa, MasterCard) to cover registration renewal costs (you will also have to pay a $1.50 credit card processing fee)

    NOTE: If you recently moved, you'll need to update your address before renewing.

    Renew by Mail

    Return your registration renewal notice along with:

    • Proof of auto insurance, if required
    • Check or money order made payable to the NJMVC

    If you've lost the enclosed envelope, mail to:

    • NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
    • Revenue Processing Center
    • P.O. Box 009
    • Trenton, NJ 08646-0009

    NOTE: It will take at least a week for the MVC to receive and process your application. If your registration is close to expiring, consider renewing in person for same-day service.

    New Jersey Registration Renewal Fees

    NJ MVC registration renewal fees vary based on:

    • Vehicle type
    • Vehicle weight
    • Vehicle year

    Your renewal notice will indicate the amount you owe. For more detailed fee information, view the MVC's fee chart.

    Discount Renewal Fees

    If you're handicapped or age 65 or older, the MVC offers a $7 discount off registration renewal fees.

    Late Fees or Penalties

    The New Jersey MVC does not charge a late fee for renewing your NJ plates after they expire. This does not mean, however, that you’re free to renew whenever you choose. If you are caught driving with expired plates, you will be ticketed.

    NJ Registration Renewal for Military Members

    You do not have to renew your registration as long as you're an active member of the armed forces. This includes the National Guard and Reserves. Be sure to carry the military Extension Letter Administrative Order 2012-02 and military identification showing your active status while driving.

    Service-Disabled and Blind Veterans in New Jersey

    If you're a service-disabled or blind veteran, you may qualify for free car registration if you meet the following classifications:

    • You're without eyesight due to combat and are eligible for state compensation under N.J.S.A. 38:18-1
    • You currently have another combat-related disability and have qualified for a free car from the Veterans Administration (VA) and:
      ―You possess a valid NJ driver's license
      ―Your vehicle has been modified for safe operation
      ―You have auto insurance coverage
    • Visit any NJ MVC office for a free registration application, or request an application by calling (888) 486-3339 or (609) 292-6500 if dialing from out of state.

      Send the completed application with the seal or stamp of the VA to your local MVC office, or mail application to:

      • Motor Vehicle Commission
      • Government Unit
      • P.O. Box 016
      • Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0016

      NJ Armed Forces Car Registration Refund

      If you register your vehicle in another state while on active duty, you can apply for a refund on the remaining time left on your NJ registration. To apply, send:

      • A Request for Refund letter explaining that you want a refund because of your military status.
      • Proof of your active military status.
      • A completed Refund Application (Form RU-9). If you can't download it, call (888) 486-3339 or (609) 292-6500 to request an application be sent to you.
      • The car's original title.
      • The car's license plates.

      Mail to:

      • Motor Vehicle Commission
      • Government Unit
      • P.O. Box 016
      • Trenton, NJ 08666-0016

      NJ Emissions Inspection

      Typically, vehicles registered in NJ must be tested every 2 years, but there are a number of exemptions. For more on this, visit our Emissions page.

      NOTE: The NJ MVC does not send smog check reminders. It's your responsibility to know when your emissions sticker expires.

      New Jersey Liability Insurance

      NJ car insurance is mandatory. Without it, you cannot renew your vehicle registration. For more information on New Jersey’s insurance laws and for local carriers, check out our Car Insurance page.

      Replacement NJ Registration Certificates, Stickers, and License Plates

      You may not drive without your registration certificate. If it's lost or damaged, get a duplicate registration certificate immediately.

      You will need to apply for replacement NJ license plates if they're no longer legible or have gone missing.

      NOTE: The NJ MVC no longer issues license plate stickers.