Motorcycle Manual in New Jersey
The Motorcycle Manual (REV 2015) published by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), includes information about traffic laws, rules of the road, and motorcycle licensing requirements. Studying its contents will help you pass the motorcycle written exam and road skills test.
Keep reading this page to learn more about the NJ motorcycle manual.
Whether you're an experience rider or just starting to learn how to operate a motorcycle, you will need to study the New Jersey Motorcycle Manual (REV REV 2015) to help you pass your MVC exams and obtain your motorcycle license. Topics you will learn about include:
- Road test requirements.
- Getting ready to ride your motorcycle.
- Turning, braking, and shifting.
- Proper motorcycle gear and helmets.
- Group riding.
- Nighttime riding.
To obtain a motorcycle license in New Jersey, you must pass both knowledge and on-cycle skills tests.
Knowledge Test Requirements
The NJ MVC knowledge test (also called a written test) contains 50 questions, and you must get at least 80% correct to pass.
NOTE: The New Jersey MVC offers the knowledge test in multiple languages.
Road Test Requirements
When you're ready for the NJ road test, visit your local New Jersey MVC Testing Facility with:
- Proper identification.
- A validated motorcycle permit (if applicable).
- A registered, insured, and inspected motorcycle.
- A licensed motorcycle rider.
- Payment for the $24 photo license fee (valid for 4 years).
- Fee is $18 if you're adding an endorsement to a regular or commercial driver's license (CDL).
For more details about NJ motorcycle licensing requirements, please visit our page about Motorcycle Licenses.
NOTE: If you successfully complete a “Basic Rider Course" in New Jersey, your skills test may be waived. For more details, please read the New Jersey Motorcycle Manual (REV REV 2015).
Before you go to your local New Jersey MVC office to take the knowledge test, try answering a few practice test questions to ensure you're ready.
Sample New Jersey Motorcycle Test Question #1
An officer can charge you for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol if you're younger than 21 years old and caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:
d) All of the above.
Sample New Jersey Motorcycle Test Question #2
In normal conditions, what is the minimum number of seconds you must stay behind the vehicle ahead?
a) 2 seconds.
b) 3 seconds.
c) 5 seconds.
d) 8 seconds.
Sample New Jersey Motorcycle Test Question #3
The NJ motorcycle manual states you should slow down:
a) On narrow or twisting roads.
b) When the roads are wet or slippery.
c) At railroad crossings and intersections.
d) All of the above.
If you're new to riding a motorcycle, it's important you learn all the techniques and skills needed to stay safe on the road. Completing a motorcycle safety course could be just the thing you need. Find a course in your area by picking your county below.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!