Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Driving Records in New Jersey

    Instantly Order Your Own NJ Driving Record Online

    New Jersey Driving Records

    Check for tickets, points, and confirm your drivers license status with an instant self-check driving record from backgroundchecks.com.

    Each Driving Record May Include:

    • License Status:

    • Suspensions
    • Driving Status
    • Expiration
    • License Details

    • Classifications
    • Vital Data
    • Endorsements

    Helpful Resources:

    Personal Driving Record - $39.95

    Date of Birth:

    I have lived at this address for less than 2 years.

    Previous Address

    - Powered by BackgroundChecks.com -

    NOTICE: This is a standard non-certified driving record. For certified records, you must contact the New Jersey MVC.

    Driving Records for Employment

    Businesses can order New Jersey driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.

    Order Now »

    Although you can order a driving record directly from the New Jersey MVC, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.

    Driving Records in New Jersey

    Whether you’re an employer, attorney, insurance company, law enforcement agency, or a driver, you can request NJ driving records through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).

    Your NJ driving history contains information about past accidents, violations, suspensions, and fees and can be used to:

    • Check your driving record points.
    • Verify personal information.
    • Verify insurance claims and adjust policy rates.
    • Screen employees during a background check.

    On this page you’ll find information on requesting or checking a driver record online, by mail, and in person.

    Types of NJ Driving Records

    The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) offers the following types of driver history records:

    • Non-certified driving records, which:
      • Can be viewed online only.
      • Are not accepted by insurance companies, employers, or courts as proof of driving history.
    • Certified 5-year driver records, which are used by:
      • Insurance companies.
      • Employers for pre-employment screening/background checks.
    • Certified complete driving records, which are used by:
      • Courts.

    A certified NJ driving record contains information about your:

    • Accidents.
    • Traffic violations.
    • Drivers license suspensions.
    • Driving record points.
    • Fee payment history.
    • The type of violation and the date it occurred.

    New Jersey Driving Record Points

    The history of points you’ve received from traffic violations and accidents will remain on your driving record permanently. Points can result in NJ DMV fines/fees, a suspended NJ driver’s license, and increased insurance rates.

    Ordering your NJ DMV driving record allows you to check how many points you have.

    • If you get 6 points or more within 3 years you will be charged a fine of at least $150.
    • If you get 12 points or more, your driver license will be suspended.

    For more details on points associated with specific traffic violations, please our DMV Point System in New Jersey page.

    While the history of your points will remain on your driving record, you can still have points deducted. You can remove:

    • 3 points if you don’t have any violations/suspension for 1 year.
    • 2 points for completing a defensive driving program every 5 years.
    • 3 points for completing a driver improvement program every 2 years.
    • 3 points for completing a probationary driver program.

    Employers, Insurance Agencies, and Attorney Requests

    You can request another driver’s NJ DMV driver history if you are:

    • An attorney working on any trial or proceeding in a federal, state, or local court, or NJ MVC agency.
    • An insurance company working on a claims investigation or policy.
    • A court or law enforcement agency.
    • Granted notarized written permission from the driver on the record.
    • An employer processing a background check or employment screening.

    On your driving record request, you must mark and describe what the driving record will be used for.

    After the NJ DMV receives your payment and processes your request, you will receive the driving record within 7 business days.

    Order a Driving Record By Mail

    To request another person’s New Jersey DMV driving record by mail, you will need a:

    • Completed New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Driver History Abstract Request (Form DO-21).
      • Be sure to mark the permitted use number and describe the reason for your driver record request.
    • Copy of your NJ drivers license.
    • Check or money order payable to “NJMVC” for the $15 fee.

    Mail all of the above to:

    NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
    Abstract Unit
    225 East State Street
    P.O. Box 142
    Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0142

    NOTE: If you are also requesting additional documents with the driving record, you must mark the documents you want on your application and include separate checks.

    Order a Customer Abstract Online

    The NJ DMV offers a Customer Abstract Information Retrieval (CAIR) service that allows you to quickly access multiple customers’ driving history records and vehicle ownership information online.

    To sign up for the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission CAIR program, you’ll need a completed Application for Online Access to Motor Vehicle Records (Form OS/DS-19).

    • The information on your application must match your business credentials.
    • Use your own words to describe the intended permitted use of the driving records information.

    Mail your completed application and any other required documents to the address specified on the form.

    Once the NJ MVC approves your application, you will need to make a $500 deposit to begin using the New Jersey driving records online search database.

    Order Your NJ DMV Driving Record

    You can order your own driving record in New Jersey online, by mail, or in person.

    After the NJ DMV receives your payment and processes your request, you will receive the driving record within 7 business days.

    NOTE: If you are a minor, your parent or legal guardian must request your driving record on your behalf. They will need to provide a legal document proving your relationship, such as a:

    • Birth certificate.
    • Court document.

    Online

    To request a non-certified or certified driver record online, you must first register for a NJ DMV online User ID, if you don’t already have one.

    To order your driving record online, visit the My MVC website and:

    • Enter your:
      • NJ MVC user ID.
      • NJ driver’s license number.
      • Last 4 digits of your Social Security number (SSN).
    • Select which type of driving record you want.
    • Provide a credit/debit card for the $15 fee.
      • You will also be charged a credit card convenience fee.

    NOTE: Non-certified driving history abstracts are for viewing purposes only.

    By Mail

    To request a New Jersey DMV driving record by mail, you’ll need a:

    • Completed Driver History Abstract Request (Form DO-21).
      • Be sure to mark the permitted use number and describe the reason for your request.
    • Copy of your NJ driver license.
    • Check or money order made payable to “NJMVC” for the $15 fee.

    Mail the above to:

    NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
    Abstract Unit
    225 East State Street
    P.O. Box 142
    Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0142

    NOTE: If you are requesting additional documents with your driving record, you must also mark the documents you want on your application and include separate checks.

    In Person

    To order your NJ driving history in person, visit your local NJ DMV office and bring:

    • A completed Driver History Abstract Request (Form DO-21).
    • Your New Jersey driver’s license or other valid form of photo ID.
    • Payment for the $15 driving record fee. The NJ MVC accepts payment by:
      • Cash.
      • Checks.
      • Money orders.
      • Credit/debit cards.
    True or False

    Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.

    True False

    False

    Every doctor's first priority is to save your life regardless of your organ donation status.

    More Organ Donor Myths ▸ Become an Organ Donor ▸