Drivers Ed in New Jersey
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in New Jersey
If you're a teenager, driver's training is one of the first requirements you must satisfy before applying for a driver's license with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).
Driver's education will not only prepare you for your driving skills test, but it will also teach you safe driving habits and help you to become a responsible, intelligent driver.
On this page you'll find information about New Jersey's driver's education requirements, and how you can get on your way to obtaining your first driver's license.
NJ Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
If you're a new driver, you must satisfy the requirements of New Jersey DMV's Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program before you can receive an unrestricted driver's license. The requirements differ depending on your age.
If you are 16 years old, you must complete a driver's training program to satisfy the student learner's permit phase of the program.
While a Driver's Ed course is not required for everyone, new drivers of any age can benefit from completing a course. Interested drivers can choose from both classroom and online driver's education courses.
NOTE: If you are a new resident younger than 18 years old and are transferring your out-of-state driver's license, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission GDL rules will still apply to you.
About Your New Jersey Driver's Ed Course
Your driver's training program must consist of a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with a licensed driving instructor.
You'll learn valuable information designed to ensure your safety on the roads, and the safety of all those around you. These lessons include:
- How to properly operate a vehicle.
- Defensive driving and hazard prevention maneuvers.
- New Jersey state traffic laws and regulations.
Contact the Driver's Ed course providers directly to get specific information about prices and scheduling.
Once you have enrolled in a driver's education course, you can apply for your New Jersey learner's permit.
Getting Your Student Learner's Permit
Once you turn 16 years old and have signed up for a driver's training program, visit your local New Jersey MVC office with your course instructor.
To obtain your student learner's permit and satisfy your driver's training requirements, you'll need to:
- Study the MVC Driver Manual and pass the knowledge test.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Provide proof of your identity, such as your:
- U.S. birth certificate.
- Valid U.S. passport.
- Certificate of citizenship or naturalization.
- Provide proof of enrollment in your New Jersey driver's training course.
- Provide a letter of consent signed by your parent or legal guardian.
- Pay the $10 student learner's permit fee.
After you complete the steps above, you'll receive your learner's permit and you can begin your driver's training.
For more details, visit our New Jersey Driver's Permit page.
Types of Driver's Ed Courses
While your high school may teach driver's education in the classroom, the New Jersey DMV only requires completion of an in-car driver's training program.
In-car driver's training is provided by private, licensed businesses. The NJ MVC provides a complete list of course providers on its website.
NOTE: If your high school doesn't offer classroom Driver's Ed, consider enrolling in an online course.
To help familiarize teens and parents with teen driving laws, GDL rules, and driving safety, the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety provides the following websites:
After Driver's Education – What's Next?
After completing your behind-the-wheel driver's training, visit your local New Jersey MVC office that administers tests to:
- Have your learner's permit validated.
- Schedule a road test.
Before getting your probationary NJ driver's license, you must:
- Have 6 months of practice supervised driving while on your learner's permit. You must display a GDL decal on the car when you are driving.
- Be at least 17 years old.
NOTE: All drivers under 21 years old must hold their learner's permit for 6 months before taking a road test.
For more information, please see our pages on the following topics:
- Driver's Permits in New Jersey
- Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers)
- Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+)
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.