Accident Guide in New Jersey
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Accidents happen. When one happens to you, New Jersey requires that you report it if it involves injury, death, or over $500 worth of damage to vehicles or property.
If law enforcement is not called to the accident scene and property damage was the only result, you'll need to send a letter to your local Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency within 10 days of the accident, stating the circumstances and providing as much information as possible.
You'll also need to notify your insurance agent.
What to Do on the Scene
When you have an accident, you need to keep your wits about you. Be sure to exchange information with all parties involved, including names, addresses, phone numbers, driver's license numbers, car tag numbers, vehicle descriptions, and insurance information. If there were any witnesses, get their names and addresses too.
It's a good idea to write down the time and the weather and road conditions at the time of the accident, too.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.