Search
Search & Choose State

  • Ticket Fines and Penalties in New Hampshire

    New Hampshire Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs

    Traffic ticket fines, as established by the New Hampshire court, are uniform throughout the state. This means getting cited for failing to obey a stop sign in Portsmouth, will cost the same as it would in Hanover. For questions about your traffic citation's fine amount, call the DMV at (603) 227-4010.

    Pay Ticket
    (Plead Guilty or No Contest)

    Learn more about
    paying your traffic ticket »

    Fight Ticket
    (Plead Not Guilty)

    • Contest traffic ticket via trial
    • Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney
    • Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
    • No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
    • Possible option to take driver improvement program and reduce points

    Learn more about
    fighting your traffic ticket »

    Car Insurance Rate Increase

    Increased car insurance rates often follow traffic ticket convictions. You can always counter a rate jump by shopping for a new provider. Comparing vehicle insurance rates online is a great and easy way to find affordable coverage.

    Registering a car?

    It's a good time to check car insurance rates

    Find the lowest rate among top providers.

    Traffic Ticket Penalties

    In addition to fines, citations also bring penalties with long-term repercussions. Points and loss of driving privileges are the most common penalties. The extent of these penalties depends on:

    • Driving history and/or past infractions. A 2nd DUI conviction, for example, comes with a longer suspension period.
    • License type. Holders of youth operator licenses and CDLs, for example, have less leeway. Read more about this in the sections below.

    NH Point System

    Traffic tickets come with points, ranging between 1 and 6. The number of points depends on the infraction. The more serious the offense, the more number of points. These points remain on your driving record for 3 years. The DMV will suspend your license if you amass too many points within a designated period of time.

    Drivers Younger Than 18 Years Old

    • 6 points in 1 calendar year―up to 3 months suspension
    • 12 points in 2 consecutive calendar years―up to 6 months suspension
    • 18 points in 3 consecutive calendar years―up to 1 year suspension

    Drivers Between 18 and 20 Years Old

    • 9 points in 1 calendar year―up to 3 months suspension
    • 15 points in 2 consecutive calendar years―up to 6 months suspension
    • 21 points in 3 consecutive calendar years―up to 1 year suspension

    Drivers 21 Years Old and Up

    • 12 points in 1 calendar year―up to 3 months suspension
    • 18 points in 2 consecutive calendar years―up to 6 months suspension
    • 24 points in 3 consecutive calendar years―up to 1 year suspension

    New Hampshire License Suspension and Revocation

    Should you lose your driving privileges it's to your advantage to know the difference between a suspended license and a revoked license.

    Suspended License―The temporary loss of your NH driver's license. After satisfying all reinstatement requirements (fees, possible driver improvement course, etc.) the DMV returns your legal driving privileges.
    Revoked License―The termination of your New Hampshire driver's license for a specified period of time. Once your revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new license, which requires passing the knowledge and road tests again.

    Some of the ways you can lose your NH driving privileges include:

    • Too many points on your driving record
    • DUI
    • Leaving the scene of an accident involving injury or death
    • Reckless driving
    • Being declared a Habitual Offender by the state

    You can learn more about license reinstatement on our NH Points page.

    New Hampshire Habitual Offender

    To be named a habitual offender means the New Hampshire DMV has deemed you to be a safety threat to other drivers.

    The DMV will classify you a habitual offender if, over a 5 year period, you have:

    • A combined total of 12 convictions for speeding, yellow line violations or operating without a drivers license
    • 3 major convictions (DUI, reckless driving, etc.)
    • 1 major conviction and any combination of 8 minor convictions (failing to obey a yield sign, driving too closely, etc.)
    • 2 major convictions and any combination of 4 minor convictions

    Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18

    In addition to adhering to all traffic laws, you must also abide by the restrictions of your license. Violating driving curfew hours, or operating with too many passengers could lead to the loss of your driving privileges.

    Penalties for NH Commercial Drivers

    You must, by law, notify your employer within 30 days of any traffic violation convictions. This applies to all situations, regardless of state or type of vehicle you were driving when cited.

    Citations for commercial drivers come with greater consequences. Not only can traffic tickets hurt the wallet, but also jeopardize your career. You can find a detailed list of violations and penalties on the The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) website.