Suspended CDL in New Hampshire
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in New Hampshire
If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified or suspended by the New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to have it reinstated.
Your CDL may be disqualified/suspended for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Violations include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs/alcohol.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
- Reckless driving and speeding.
- Following too closely and making erratic lane changes.
- Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL on hand.
- Driving without the proper endorsements.
- Committing a felony using your commercial vehicle.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
The duration of your New Hampshire CDL disqualification and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
When your CDL is disqualified or has a pending disqualification, the New Hampshire DMV will mail you a notice.
For specific information about your CDL suspension/disqualification, please refer to your notice or contact the New Hampshire DMV Financial Responsibility department.
- Phone: (603) 227-4010.
- E-mail: NH.DMVHelp@dos.nh.gov.
Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:
- 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
- DUI/DWI or drug-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
- Using your commercial vehicle in a felony.
- 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense (while transporting hazardous materials).
- A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days for committing multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
- 60 – 120 days for violated railroad highway grade crossing rules.
NOTE: You will be charged with a DUI if you are caught driving your commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.
You are required by law to notify your employer:
- Within 30 days of any traffic offense conviction.
- By the end of the next business day after you receiving a CDL disqualification notice.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for violations you commit in non-commercial vehicles. For more information, please see our Suspended License in New Hampshire page.
Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status
Check your New Hampshire driving record to see how many points you have on your history, and whether you're in danger of a suspended license.
While certain violations may lead to a disqualification of your CDL, accumulating too many driving record points can also lead to a suspension of your non-commercial driving privileges. Often, a suspension of your non-commercial license will result in a suspension of your CDL as well.
Traffic violations carry a point value ranging from 1 point to 6 points and remain on your driving record for 3 years.
If you accumulate too many driving record points, the New Hampshire DMV may first send you a warning letter.
Depending on your age and the number of points you accumulate, the New Hampshire DMV will suspended your non-commercial driving privileges for up to 1 year.
You can order your driving record to check the status of your driver’s license, and view your driving record points offenses.
If you want to contest your suspended/disqualified New Hampshire CDL, you may be able to request a New Hampshire DMV administrative hearing.
NOTE: DMV hearings have no effect on court decisions.
Certain administrative hearings must be requested within a specific period of time after your arrest date or after you receive your suspension/disqualification notice.
- Administrative license suspension (ALS) hearings must be requested within 30 days.
- Uninsured accident suspensions must be requested within 10 days.
Contact the New Hampshire Bureau of Hearings for more information.
- Phone: (603) 271-3486.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
To request an administrative hearing for your CDL suspension/disqualification:
- Complete the ALS online request form, if you have an administrative license suspension for alcohol-related offenses.
- Complete the general hearing online request form, if your suspension/disqualification was caused by other reasons.
- Make a written request and mail it to:
Department of Safety
Bureau of Hearings
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Your CDL reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges have also been suspended.
To reinstate your commercial driver’s license, you may need to:
- Retake and pass the commercial driving knowledge and skills tests.
- Complete an alcohol education/treatment program, if applicable.
- Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your New Hampshire CDL” below.)
Please refer to your suspension notice or contact the New Hampshire DMV for specific instructions to reinstate your CDL.
Once you’ve satisfied all requirements, the New Hampshire Department of Safety will mail you a confirmation of restoration/rescind notice.
Your reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your CDL disqualification/suspension. The standard cost to reinstate your CDL is $100. You may have to pay additional fees depending on your offense.
Please refer to your suspension notice or contact the New Hampshire DMV for fees specific to your situation.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime for your offense, you may also need to pay additional court fines.
To pay your CDL reinstatement fees, you can either:
- Submit your fees in person or by mail to:
NH Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
- Pay your fees by phone:
- (800) 272-0036 (U.S. only).
- (603) 227-4070.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The New Hampshire DMV accepts the following forms of payment for reinstatements:
- In person:
- Check or money order payable to “NH-DMV” (include a note for “License Restoration”).
- Credit cards.
- By mail: Check or money order payable to “NH-DMV” (include a note for “License Restoration”).
- By phone: MasterCard, VISA, and American Express credit cards.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!