- Location: New Hampshire
Renewing Your CDL in New HampshireGet Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Renewing your CDL is your responsibility. Because many employers also track your license activity they may remind you of your renewal date. Providing you haven't forgotten to update the state on any address changes, the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will send you a reminder two months before your license expires.
But please, don't wait for the reminder postcard. Even if it doesn't come, you must still renew your CDL on time, or you could face traffic tickets and fines.
If you are out of state and can't visit a DMV office for renewal, you must notify them in writing at the Concord office and they will mail you a temporary license to use until you can apply in person for the renewal.
- Department of Safety
- New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles
- 23 Hazen Drive
- Concord, NH 03305
To renew your CDL, there are no written knowledge or road skills tests. However, if you have a hazardous materials endorsement you must take the written hazardous materials test to renew the endorsement. The state and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) believe it is important to keep CDL drivers aware of current hazardous material hauling issues. Before you take the hazardous materials test you will need to review a current copy of the Commercial Driver's Manual.
A new physical exam may also be required.
In addition, every five years you'll need a new TSA background check and fingerprints for a cost of $89.25.
You can renew at any DMV Office or substation during regular licensing hours. Not all substations issue licenses everyday so check the schedule before you go. There are 18 licensing locations throughout the state for your convenience. Arrive early if you can or call for an appointment, because they get very busy on licensing days.
Be sure to take:
- Your current CDL.
- Proof of identification―social security card, passport, student or work identification badge, or marriage certificate.
- Proof of residency―voter registration card, valid NH vehicle registration, town clerk residency letter, or utility bill postmarked and addressed to you.
- Payment in the form of cash, check, or credit card. The renewal fee depends on your endorsements and will be $60 to $105.