Registration Renewal in New Hampshire
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Renew NH Registration
You must renew your registration annually in order to remain road-legal. You are not required to carry car insurance but you must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident. If you are unable to meet these requirements your driving privileges in New Hampshire may be suspended. If you're in the market for a new carrier, you can compare rates at our Insurance Center.
For more information on renewing, scroll down to the section titled "Check Your Renewal Notice."
Register a Vehicle in NH for the First Time
You must register your vehicle for the first time with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you recently purchased a vehicle or became a resident of the Granite State. To learn how, visit our car registration page.
Register a Non-Operational Vehicle
You do not have to notify the state if you take your vehicle off the road. However, when it comes to time to drive it again you must renew its registration:
- Find the previous registration certificate.
- Gather up the required registration fee.
- Take everything to your town or city office.
You should receive a renewal notice approximately six weeks prior to your registration's expiration date. If you do not receive one, call your town or city office. If you're so inclined, you can renew up to four months early.
The state requires annual emissions inspections, and your renewal notice may include information about your vehicle's next inspection. If you aren't sure about when to bring your vehicle for an inspection, or you want to learn more, visit Smog & Emission Checks.
Look for your renewal fees on your renewal notice. If you do not receive a notice, contact your town or city office. Just like car insurance, you can expect to pay a higher rate if your vehicle is new or a high-end model.
Avoid Late Fees and Penalties
There is no late fee; however, an officer can ticket you if you operate your vehicle with an expired registration. Too, you must still pay the full 12-month renewal fee even if you renew late.
- Have an e-mail account.
- Locate your registration renewal notice. (You may also need to take note of any emissions inspection information it may include.)
- Have a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express to pay the registration fee.
- Visit the state's online renewal site.
- Depending on where you reside, expect your new registration certificate to arrive in the mail anywhere from three to 14 days.
- Have your renewal notice. While it's in your hand, check for information about emissions inspection requirements.
- Have your current registration certificate.
- Be ready to pay the registration fee using cash or a check.
- Visit your town or city office.
- Have your renewal notice.
- Follow the instructions on the renewal notice, and make sure you understand whether your vehicle needs an emissions inspection.
- Mail the renewal notice along with your registration payment to the address indicated on the notice.
- Look for your registration certificate to arrive in the mail anywhere from three to 14 days, depending on where you reside.
Affix your decals to the rear plate. They should come with instructions on where exactly to apply them.
Add the two totals listed under the Permit Fees column on your registration certificate. The total is the amount you can claim as a Personal Property Tax deduction on your IRS form.
Consider contacting a tax attorney for more help on this topic.
Wearing a seat belt is not the only way to enhance your safety while on the road. Adhering to regular maintenance practices like changing the oil, rotating and replacing the tires, and annual tune ups will keep your vehicle running at top condition.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.