Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in New Hampshire
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:Mopeds and scooters, the well-behaved stepchildren of motorcycles, will never be associated with words such as reckless, breakneck, or devil-may-care, but New Hampshire's Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) still requires these motorized bikes to be registered.
Before huffing into a registration office with pen and checkbook in hand you first need to determine if your bike classifies as a moped or scooter and not a motorcycle.
According to the DMV a moped or scooter must meet the following restrictions:
- It must have an engine of 50 cubic centimeters or less.
- It cannot exceed 30 mph on level terrain.
- It cannot shift.
- It cannot exceed two horsepower.
When registering bring a bill of sale and the bike's old registration form (if it's used), or the manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) (if it's new).
Though not required, the DMV highly advises bringing along a photograph of the bike. This helps DMV agents determine if the bike does indeed qualify as a moped or scooter.
It costs $3 to register, and that includes the one-year moped plate.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing