- Location: New Hampshire
Motorcycle License in New Hampshire
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Motorcycle drivers enjoy traveling the New Hampshire roadways in the spring, summer, and fall. Motorcycles are very popular today because of the many attractive styles and the fuel efficiency. In New Hampshire you cannot drive a motorcycle without the proper endorsement or special motorcycle license; the penalty is a $100 fine.
To qualify for a motorcycle endorsement you must already have a New Hampshire operator's license.
You can get a Special Motorcycle License, not an endorsement, if you do not already have an operator's license.
If you are 16-18 years old you must also prove you have taken a driver education course.
Learner permits are issued to drivers so they can practice on the road during the daytime; learners can only drive sunrise to sunset and they cannot carry any passengers. The learner permit is $30 and expires in 30 days.
New Hampshire offers a very popular Motorcycle Rider Training Program. Classes are held across the state on many different dates―weekends and weekdays―because the Department of Safety (DOS) and Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) believes the training program produces safer motorcycle drivers. There are three classes:
- Basic Rider Course: $110 Fee
- Intermediate Rider Course: $50 Fee
- Experienced Rider Course: $60 Fee
If you sign up for the Basic or Intermediate Rider Courses the DMV provides you with a motorcycle to train on. You must bring a helmet and the proper riding clothes, like long pants, gloves, and a jacket. For the Experienced Rider Course you must bring your own motorcycle.
Training is a great way to get comfortable with the equipment, traffic rules, and road skills. Accidents involving motorcycles are often fatal and learning safe driving habits must be your first priority.
Complete the Application for Driver's License form to add the motorcycle endorsement to your current driver's license. The form is available online using the free Adobe Reader. Any DMV substation will take your application, $30 application fee, and offer the road test.
It is possible to get a driver's license limited to just motorcycles and not cars or trucks. The Special Motorcycle License is part of the same driver's license application you use for the motorcycle endorsement. Complete the application, pay the $55 fee, and pass the road test.
Like all other transactions between you and the New Hampshire DMV, they may require you to show proof of age, identity, and residency. Plan to bring with you:
- Photo ID.
- Passport―if you have one.
- Birth certificate―if age is a question.
- Residency letter or utility bill postmarked and addressed to you.
Practice and preparation will pay off when you are asked to drive the motorcycle road course. The road course is designed to establish your ability to handle the motorcycle, stop, start, and turn.
Not every DMV substation offers motorcycle road testing every business day. If you have received a motorcycle learner permit you might get an appointment for the road test. Otherwise, you may need to make an appointment with the DMV substation to drive the road test course.
A benefit of finishing the Motorcycle Rider Training Program is that you will not have to take the road test because you have already proven you can handle the motorcycle.
There is a lot to study and think about when sharing the road with vehicles much bigger than your motorcycle; but there is no written knowledge test to add the endorsement or get a Special Motorcycle License. Still you will want to review the Driver's Manual and other motorcycle-related publications to refresh your understanding of traffic rules.