- Location: Nebraska
Suspended License in NebraskaPage Overview
Because driving is a privilege that Nebraska residents must earn, you can lose your driver license if you exhibit certain unsafe or improper behaviors. Depending on the offense, your license may be suspended for as little as 30 days or as much as 15 years.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DMV. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
There are many reasons that drivers can have their licenses suspended. For example, you can lose your driving privileges for any of the following:
- Accumulating too many points on your driving record
- Lying on a driver license application
- Driving with no proof of insurance
- Being convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using your vehicle to flee from a law enforcement officer
- Refusing to pay a traffic ticket
- Failing to comply with court-ordered child support or alimony payments
- Violating the terms of Nebraska's graduated licensing system for teen drivers
To get a new driver license after a suspension, you'll need to complete any terms of your agreement with the state. For example, if your license was revoked under the Nebraska Point System Law, you'll need to complete an approved driver education course before your license can be reinstated. If your license was suspended for failure to pay a traffic ticket, you'll need to pay the ticket and a $50 reinstatement fee.
You can apply for a new driver license at any one of Nebraska's driver examining offices. You'll need to present identification to verify your Social Security number, birth date, and full legal name. There will also be a vision screening, written exam, and driving test.
If your driving privileges are revoked or suspended, you can sometimes apply for special permits that allow you to continue necessary activities during the restricted period:
- If you are unable to find other transportation to your job, you can apply for an Employment Driving Permit that allows you to drive from home to work using the most direct route.
- If you have a serious illness, you can apply for a Medical Hardship Driving Permit to drive from your home to your hospital, clinic, or doctor's office.
- If you are a repeat DUI offender, you might be eligible for an Ignition Interlock-Restricted License that will allow you to drive if you pass a breath test before starting the vehicle.
For details about special driving permits for residents who have a suspended license, please call the Financial Responsibility Division of the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles at (402) 471-3985.