Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Nebraska

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Nebraska

    If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was suspended or disqualified by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements before you can reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles, including:

    • Speeding and reckless driving.
    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Driving without the proper CDL endorsements.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.

    About Your NE CDL Suspension

    The duration of your commercial driver’s license disqualification and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your violation.

    For information about your specific suspension/disqualification, contact the Nebraska DMV:

    NOTE: You may need to surrender your CDL to the Nebraska DMV.

    Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
      • DUI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Leaving the scene of a truck accident/hit and runs.
      • Committing a felony with your CMV.
    • 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
    • A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 – 120 days for violating railroad highway grade crossing standards.

    NOTE: If you are found to have a BAC of 0.04% or higher while driving a commercial vehicle, you will be charged with a DUI.

    The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) website provides a list of CDL disqualifications and durations.

    You must remember to notify your employer:

    • Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense.
    • By the end of the next business day after you receive a disqualification notice.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for violations you have committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our page on Suspended Licenses in Nebraska.

    Check Your NE Commercial Driver’s License Status

    Serious traffic violations can cause CDL disqualifications and points on your driving record.

    If you accumulate 12 points or more on your driving record within 2 years, the Nebraska DMV will suspend your non-commercial driving privileges for:

    • 6 months for a 1st offense.
    • 3 years for a 2nd offense within 5 years.

    If your non-commercial driving privileges are suspended, often your CDL will be suspended as well.

    You can order your driving record to check the status of your driver’s license and view your driving record points.

    Suspended CDL Hearings in Nebraska

    Depending on the reason for your commercial driver’s license disqualification/suspension, you may be able to contest it by requesting an administrative hearing.

    NOTE: Nebraska DMV administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions. If you wish to appeal a court-ordered suspension/disqualification, you must contact your court.

    If your CDL was suspended for refusing or failing a BAC test after being stopped on suspicion of a DUI/DWI, you must request a DMV hearing within 10 days of receiving your disqualification notice.

    To request an administrative hearing for BAC test refusals/failures, you’ll need:

    Mail the above to the address on the form.

    For information about requesting an administrative hearing for CDL suspensions/disqualifications caused by other offenses, contact the Nebraska DMV:

    Reinstate Your Nebraska CDL

    Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the circumstances of your CDL disqualification/suspension.

    To reinstate your CDL, you may need to:

    • Complete a driver’s education/improvement course.
    • Satisfy any court requirements, if applicable.
    • Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
    • Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Nebraska” below.)

    For information about your specific reinstatement requirements, contact the Nebraska DMV:

    Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Nebraska

    Your CDL reinstatement fees will vary depending on the circumstances of your offense. Generally, it will cost you $125 to reinstate your suspended CDL.

    You may need to pay additional NE DMV fees. Contact the NE DMV for your specific reinstatement fees. If you were also convicted in court, you may need to pay additional court penalties.

    You can pay your reinstatement fees:

    • In person or by mail to:
        Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
        Financial Responsibility Division
        301 Centennial Mall South
        P.O. Box 94877
        Lincoln, NE 68509-4877
      OR
    • Online at the Nebraska DMV website.

    NOTE: Online transactions will incur an additional $3 fee.

    If you pay your reinstatement fees by mail, you’ll need to include your:

    • Name.
    • Date of birth.
    • Commercial driver’s license number.
    • Address.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Nebraska DMV accepts the following forms of payments for CDL reinstatements.

    • In person/by mail: Cashier’s check or money order payable to “Department of Motor Vehicles.”
    • Online: MasterCard, VISA, Discover credit/debit card.
    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: