Point Reduction in Nebraska
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will revoke your Nebraska driver's license if you accumulate too many driving record points, which are caused by violating traffic laws. If your driving record point total is nearing the loss-of-license mark, you do have the option to have points removed by completing a state-approved defensive driving course.
For more information about your options and requirements for completing a course to dismiss a ticket or remove points, please visit our Traffic Schools in Nebraska page.
To have points removed, you must volunteer to take the class on your own and have no more than 12 points on your record. If you wait until you have 12 points, you're too late; you will not be eligible for point reduction. This option is limited to once every 5 years, and the course must be completed prior to the date of a violation that would put your point total at or above 12 points.
Before registering, double-check that the traffic school is state-approved. The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will not recognize a completion certificate from a non-sanctioned defensive driving program. Courses are 8 hours, and offered in a classroom setting only. There is currently no online option.
Your defensive driving course will typically cover topics including:
- Traffic laws in Nebraska.
- Defensive driving tips and techniques.
- Accident avoidance.
- Developing responsible driving attitudes and behaviors.
Defensive driving/driver improvement courses are designed to help you become a better driver. Upon successful completion of a course, you should have gained new, safe driving knowledge that can help you to avoid committing traffic violations and causing accidents in the future.Other Topics in This Section