New to NebraskaPage OverviewSUMMARY: New Nebraska Residents
When you move to Nebraska, you'll need to transfer your out-of-state driver's license and register your car. These both require a trip to the DMV and payment for the required fees. If you wish to, you can also register as an organ donor and voter during the same trip.
Continue reading this page to learn more about the transactions you'll need to complete with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The NE Department of Motor Vehicles is the agency is deals with all of your major vehicle-related tasks. The DMV is made up of the following departments:
- Driver Licensing Services Division: Administers driver's licenses, state ID cards, and road tests.
- Driver and Vehicle Records Division: Handles registration and titling for vehicles and boats; issues license plates and motor vehicle records.
Additionally, you may have interaction with the NE Secretary of State, which oversees elections and voter registration throughout Nebraska.
Within 30 days of moving to Nebraska, you must register your out-of-state car with the NE DMV. You'll need to visit your local DMV office in person and provide various documents as well as payment for the registration fee. For more information, visit our Car Registration in Nebraska page.
If you have a special vehicle, your registration and licensing requirements may differ to a standard car. This includes recreational vehicles (RVs), mopeds, and off-road vehicles. Visit our Special Vehicles page for more information.
Required Car Insurance
Before the Nebraska DMV will register your car, you'll need to provide proof that you have adequate car insurance in the state. Compare quotes from different auto insurance companies by visiting our Car Insurance page.
Required Safety Inspection
While the NE DMV doesn't require smog/emissions inspections, they do require your car to pass a safety inspection prior to registration. You'll need to take your car to your local County Sheriff's Office and provide various documents and payment for the inspection.
See our Car Inspections page for complete instructions.
If you have an out-of-state driver's license, you have 30 days to transfer it over to Nebraska after you move to the state. If you are found driving with your out-of-sate driver's license after this time, you risk fines and other penalties. Visit our Applying for a New License in Nebraska page for information.
If you're a teenager and want to transfer your out-of-state driver's permit, your previous testing and Driver's Ed history must meet the requirements of the state's graduated driver's licensing (GDL) program. For more information, see our Applying for a New Teen License page.
Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
If you need a commercial driver's license (CDL), the application process and required documents may differ. Follow the instructions on our Applying for a New CDL in Nebraska page.
If you don't wish to drive in NE, you can apply for an identification card from the DMV instead. You can use an ID card to prove your identity, age, and address when required. For more information about what is required to obtain an ID card, see our Identification Cards in Nebraska page.
If you wish to be an organ donor, you must register with Nebraska's organ donor registry once you become a resident. This applies to you even if you were a registered organ donor in your previous state.
Don't forget to register to vote in Nebraska also. Check the deadline dates to register to make sure you'll be eligible to vote on the next election day.
You can register as both an organ donor or voter when you apply for a driver's license.
If you're not a resident of Nebraska but in the state temporarily to fulfill your military obligations, you may be exempt from some of the licensing and registration requirements. For more information, visit our Drivers in the Military page.
If you're ready to make the trip to the Nebraska DMV, use our handy office finder tool to locate your nearest office.
You may also want to read up on the DMV's driving manuals and make sure you're up to speed on the state's road rules:Recommended Articles