- Location: Nebraska
Motorcycle Registration in Nebraska
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
According to Nebraska law, it's illegal to operate a motorcycle that hasn't been properly registered. Fortunately, the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles has made the registration process easy and convenient. In fact, the process is just like registering your car. But here is the quick rundown:
The fees for registering your motorcycle will vary. You can obtain an estimate by using the Nebraska DMV's Motor Vehicle Tax Estimator or calling your county official for the exact amount you owe. Because not all DMV offices are able to accept personal checks, it's recommended that you also inquire about acceptable forms of payment.
If you are a new Nebraska resident, you have 30 days to register any motor vehicles that you may own. However, you do not need to re-register your motorcycle if you move from one county within the state to another.
After you've paid the fees for your motorcycle registration, you'll receive a registration certificate, license plates, and validation tabs. However, you may request personalized or specialty license plates for an additional fee. Whether you choose Husker Spirit plates or license plates featuring your childhood nickname, this can be a great way to express your individuality as you travel throughout the state!
Your motorcycle registration expiration date is determined by the month in which you purchased your vehicle. However, if you also own a car or truck, you may request to have all of your registrations expire in a month of your choosing.
You should receive a reminder postcard in the mail roughly 90 days before your registration is scheduled to expire. Motorcycle registrations can be renewed in person or by mail. To renew your registration, you'll need to provide your current registration document and your original Certificate of Insurance or other acceptable proof of financial responsibility.
If you have questions about renewing your motorcycle registration, please call the Nebraska DMV at (402) 471-3918.