Motorcycle License in Nebraska
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
In Nebraska, a motorcycle license is sometimes referred to as a Class M license. This license is necessary if you wish to legally operate a motorcycle or three-wheeled motor vehicle on any Nebraska roads or highways.
To receive a motorcycle license, you must generally be at least 18 years of age. However, 17-year-old Nebraska residents who have held the provisional operator's permit for one year or more without accumulating more than three points are also eligible.
Visit any DMV office with:
- One proof of identity.
- Two documents proving your place of Nebraska residence.
You will also be asked to:
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass knowledge and skill tests, if applicable (see Note below). To prepare for the written test, be sure to study the state's Motorcycle Operator Manual.
- Pay all fees. If this is your first license, there will be a fee of $26.50. However, there is no charge to add a Class M endorsement to your current Nebraska driver license. If you already have a valid CDL, it will cost $12.50 to add a motorcycle endorsement to your license.
NOTE: Only certain DMV locations offer motorcycle skills testing. An appointment is necessary. Both the motorcycle written and skills tests will be waived if you complete a state-approved motorcycle safety training class.
Motorcycle licenses are issued for a five-year period. Your license will be mailed to you after about a week.
You should receive a renewal postcard from the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles approximately 90 days before your motorcycle license is scheduled to expire. You should bring this notice to your nearest examining location when you renew your license.
When you renew your Nebraska motorcycle license, you'll need to present one form of acceptable identification which includes both your full name and date of birth. You'll also need to provide two documents showing your principal address. You may be asked to prove your Social Security number; proof of exemption is always required.
A vision screening will be required, but written and driving tests will be waived if you renew within one year of your license's expiration date.
Your license will be sent to you after five to seven business days.
Riding a motorcycle can be fun and exciting, but it's also very dangerous. The following tips can help you minimize the risk:
- Wear the appropriate protective gear. According to Nebraska law, protective helmets are mandatory for all motorcycle drivers and passengers.
- Don't carry unauthorized passengers. It's illegal for you to transport another person unless he/she is sitting on a permanent seat.
- Keep both hands on the handlebars. Nebraska law prevents you from carrying any item that makes it difficult to you to keep both hands on the handlebars at all times.
- Get the education you need. Enrolling in a motorcycle training program is the best way to make sure you have the skills to stay safe on the road.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.