Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Nebraska
All state residents who ride must, by law, maintain proof of financial responsibility. Most riders honor this obligation with motorcycle insurance.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
To meet the state's insurance requirements and prove you're financially responsible for the damages your motorcycle might cause in an accident, you must protect your bike with one of the following coverages:
- A certificate of self-insurance. You must have a minimum of 26 vehicles registered under your name to qualify for this option.
- A surety bond with a company authorized to operate in Nebraska.
- A property bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the state.
- A cash deposit in the amount of $75,000 with the State Treasurer.
- A liability motorcycle insurance policy.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're unsure about whether you need to register your bike with the state, which would then mean it requires insurance, you can call the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (402) 471-3918.
For clarity's sake, the state defines a motorcycle as any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the operator and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.
Nebraska Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Nebraska law requires you to have liability insurance to help pay for costs associated with property damage and bodily injuries suffered by others in an accident you cause.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following minimum coverage limits:
- $25,000 for bodily injury/death to 1 person in an accident.
- $50,000 for bodily injury/death to 2 or more people in an accident.
- $25,000 per accident for property damage.
To find a motorcycle insurance rate that suits your budget, be sure to compare quotes from a variety of carriers. Depending on your situation you can save yourself a significant amount of money. And keep in mind that you're not limited to the minimum amounts displayed above. You may find value in purchasing higher limits.
Additionally, you can maximize your protection with additional types of coverage, such as collision, comprehensive, and medical payments.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
The state does not offer any insurance discounts for the wearing of a helmet. Helmets are required for all riders, regardless of age.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
When riding you must carry one of the the following proofs of motorcycle insurance:
- A certificate of self-insurance issued by the DMV.
- A surety bond certificate or note.
- A certificate from the State Treasurer as proof of a cash bond.
- An insurance identification card, supplied by your carrier.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
No proof of insurance may result in:
- A fine.
- Suspension of your license and registration. Reinstatement will require filing an SR-22 form with the DMV, which may result in a jump in your insurance rates.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!