Identification Cards in Nebraska
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
According to Nebraska law, any legal resident may request a state identification card. This card includes a color photo of the applicant and is considered acceptable legal identification if you do not have a valid driver license.
To apply for an ID card, you'll need to provide one form of acceptable identification that includes both your full legal name and date of birth, and two documents verifying your address. In some cases, you may be asked for proof of your Social Security number, too. If you're younger than 18 and can't provide proof of your address, bring two acceptable documents showing the address of a parent or guardian.
Your ID card will be mailed to you after five-to-seven business days. ID card fees vary depending on the length of time before the card expires.
Once you receive your state identification card, it's important to make sure the information on the card remains current. If you change your address or legal name, you'll need to request an updated card from the Nebraska DMV. Just following the procedure for changing your driver license information.
You'll receive a renewal notice in the mail approximately 90 days before your state identification card is schedule to expire. You should bring this notice with you to the examining location when you renew your state identification card. At this time, ID cards cannot be renewed by mail. Your ID card will be mailed to you after about a week.
The fee for renewing your ID card in Nebraska is $26.50 for a period of five years; however, the time period and fees vary for cardholders under the age of 21. Here's the list of renewal periods and the fees:
- For one year or less - $7.50.
- For a period of more than one year but less than two years - $12.50.
- For a period of more than two years but less than three years - $16.50.
- For a period of three years, but less than four years - $21.50.
- For a period of more than four years for a person under the age of 21 - $26.50.
To replace a lost, stolen, or damaged ID card, head to your local county treasurer. You'll need to complete an application, bring two acceptable proofs of address and one for your identity, and pay $13.50. If you're younger than 18 and can't provide proof of your address, bring two acceptable documents showing the address of a parent or guardian. Your ID card will be mailed to you after about a week.
You can also apply for a duplicate ID by mail.
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
- Driver License Examining Division
- PO Box 94726
- Lincoln, NE 68509
If your photo remains on file, you're all set. If not, the ID will say "Valid Without Photo" and you'll need to head to the DMV anyway within 30 days.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.