DUI Attorneys in Nebraska
If you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, you may need the help of a DUI attorney to represent you in court. A DUI conviction in NE can result in serious penalties such as fines, court fees, a driver's license revocation, and even jail time.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Before hiring a DUI attorney, check out the following tips to help you make your final decision:
- Ask your friends and family. People you know may be able to recommend DUI attorneys.
- Find a skilled DUI lawyer. You'll need to hire an attorney who has experience in working with DUI & DWI cases.
- Stay local. A lawyer who is familiar with Nebraska DUI laws and know the ins and outs of local courts can be the most helpful.
- Contact several lawyers. Since consultations are normally free of charge, schedule meetings with as many DUI attorneys as possible.
- Ask about your fees. Prior to hiring a DUI attorney, inquire about his or her fees, deadlines, and payment options.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
In Nebraska, you can be charged with a DUI if you're caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:
- 0.08% or higher, if you have a regular NE driver's license.
- 0.04% or higher, if you were operating a commercial vehicle.
- 0.02% or higher, if you are younger than 21 years old.
NOTE: The court can still convict you of a DUI even if you measure under the legal limit in NE or refuse to submit to a BAC test.
A DUI attorney can help you minimize the penalties you'll receive from committing a DUI.
There are many benefits to hiring a lawyer for your charges. DUI attorneys can:
- Represent you in court.
- Complete all needed court paperwork.
- Give you advice on how to plea.
- Explain the court process to you.
Having a Nebraska DUI attorney can be very helpful. While there's no guarantee you'll win your case with a DUI attorney, you'll likely get a better result with a lawyer on your side.
DUI penalties are determined by your age, driving history, and the severity of your charges. Depending on your specific circumstances, you could face any of the following penalties from both the court and the NE Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV):
- A revocation of your NE driver's license:
- Refusing a chemical test 1st offense: Up to 1 year.
- DUI 1st offense: Up to 180 days.
- DUI 2nd offense: Up to 15 years.
- Jail time (varies depending on your driving record).
- An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
- A costly alcohol treatment program.
You could face even greater penalties depending on the severity of your DUI offense. For more information about DUI penalties and DUI charges, please visit our DUI & DWI in Nebraska page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!