Driving Records in NebraskaPage Overview
Nebraska Driving Records
Check for tickets, points, and confirm your drivers license status with an instant self-check driving record from backgroundchecks.com.
Each Driving Record May Include:
- Driving Status
- Vital Data
Personal Driving Record - $39.95
Driving Records for Employment
Businesses can order Nebraska driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.Order Now »
Although you can order a driving record directly from the Nebraska DMV, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) keeps records on all licensed drivers in the state. You may order a copy of your driving record from the NE DMV.
A Nebraska driver record is a document showing your driving history and other information related to your license.
The following information will appear on your NE driving record:
- Name, date of birth, address, and county name.
- Physical description (hair color, eye color, etc.).
- Driver license number, issue date and expiration date.
- Driver license class and endorsements.
- Driver license status (valid, revoked, suspended, etc.).
- License restrictions, suspensions, and revocations.
- Traffic accidents (does not indicate fault) and convictions.
- Points against your Nebraska driver’s license.
The NE DMV offers a couple types of driving records, such as:
- 5-year record: Provides a snapshot of your driving history within the last 5-year period.
- Complete driving record: Shows your entire driving history.
- Clearance letter: Allows former Nebraska residents to access their driving history in order to apply for a license in their new state.
Simply check the box on the application for the type you would like to request. For more information on ordering, see “How to Order Your NE Driving Record” below.
The following list of exemptions shows who may request a driving record besides its owner:
- Anyone with notarized written consent from the driver.
- Courts, law enforcement, and government agencies for official functions.
- Businesses with legitimate need for correct driving record information to prevent fraud; recover debt; or pursue legal actions.
- Researchers on statistical studies where personal information is not disclosed or published, and drivers are not contacted.
- Insurance companies.
- Tow companies or impound yards.
- Licensed private investigators.
- Employers (or their insurers) verifying commercial driver license information.
- Operators of private toll-transportation facilities.
- News publications disclosing news involving driver or vehicle safety, and/or theft.
- The federal organ procurement organization for the Donor Registry of Nebraska.
You may order your Nebraska driving record online, by mail or in person at your local NE DMV office.
NOTE: If you previously had a NE driver’s license and need a clearance letter to apply for a driver license in another state, see “Clearance Letters in Nebraska" below.
To order your NE driving record online, you must:
- Visit the Driver License Record Search webpage.
- Be prepared to enter your:
- NE driver’s license number.
- Date of birth.
- E-mail address.
- Pay the $3 driving record fee (e-check or credit card).
The NE Department of Motor Vehicles will mail a copy of your driving record.
To request a Nebraska driving record in person at your local NE DMV office:
- Submit an Application for Copy of Driving Record.
- Present proof of identification.
- Contact the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles to find out about acceptable documents.
- Pay the $3 driver record fee.
For acceptable fee methods, see “Fees for NE Driving Records" below.
To submit a request for a NE driving record by mail:
- Complete an Application for Copy of Driving Record.
- Sign and notarize your signature on the application in Box 1.
- Provide a self-addressed and stamped envelope.
- Enclose payment for your $3 driving record request fee.
- Make the check or money order payable to “Department of Motor Vehicles.”
- Send your documents and payment to the address on the form.
The Nebraska DMV will send your driving record by mail.
Ordering Clearance Letters in Nebraska
Clearance letters are issued to drivers who moved away from Nebraska, but need a clearance letter to get a new driver’s license in another state.
To obtain a clearance letter from the NE DMV, you must submit a written request by mail that includes your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- Driver license number or Social Security number.
- Current out-of-state mailing address.
- Check or money order for your $3 clearance letter fee.
- A self addressed stamped envelop for your letter to be sent to you.
Address your envelope to:
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver and Vehicle Records Division
ATTN: Clearance Desk
PO Box 94789
Lincoln, NE 68509-4789
The DMV normally processes and mails your clearance letter within 2 days of receiving the written request.
- Driving record fee: $3.
- Clearance letter fee: $3.
Acceptable Payment Methods
Nebraska DMV offices accept the following payment methods:
- Money orders.
- Credit cards:
- American Express.
Pay for your driving record online using an e-check, or credit card:
- American Express.
You will need to enclose a check or money order made payable to “Department of Motor Vehicles” for your driving record application.
If you happen to find an error on your Nebraska driving record, you should contact your local NE DMV office immediately. Inform them of the nature of the error, and provide any proof you may have for the correction.
Removing Points from Your Record
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles can take 2 points off your driver record if you successfully complete an approved driver improvement course. However, you must have less than 12 points to qualify, and you will only be granted a point reduction once every 5 years.
Go to our page about Defensive Driving in Nebraska to learn how to drive safely and keep traffic incidents off your driving record.True or False
Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.