Register Car in Nebraska
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you are a current resident who merely needs to renew an expired vehicle registration, please review the Registration Renewals for information on this procedure.
Registering your vehicle for the first time is necessary if you have:
- Purchased a new or used vehicle
- Become a permanent state resident
- Received a vehicle as a gift
Generally, you have 30 days to complete the vehicle registration process. Some vehicles are not required by the state to be registered, however. These include off-road vehicles (such as ATVs, mopeds, and golf carts), vehicles that run on tracks, farm vehicles, and a variety of machinery used for construction and agricultural purposes. Find details on the information page provided by the DMV.
Proof of financial responsibility is required in addition to a valid vehicle registration before you're allowed to hit the road. Purchasing an automobile insurance policy is how most drivers choose to satisfy this requirement. Visit our Insurance Center to find the coverage you need at a price that best fits your household budget.
One of the advantages of buying a vehicle from a dealership is that the sales representative can help you complete the documents needed for the registration and title transfer. When you buy a vehicle from a private seller, however, you're responsible for completing this task on your own.
Visit our page on Title Transfers to learn more about how to obtain a title for your vehicle.
To complete the registration process:
- Complete a "Registration Application" copy of the Nebraska Certificate of Title
- Provide an original document showing your proof of insurance
- Obtain a receipt demonstrating that you have paid your sales or excise tax
- Provide a copy of the signed lease agreement (if your car is a leased vehicle)
If you are still deciding what vehicle you wish to buy, you may want to order a vehicle history report. This is a simple precaution that can help prevent headaches caused by unexpected problems with your purchase.
Fees for vehicle registrations will vary. To obtain a rough estimate of the cost to register your vehicle, you may visit the Motor Vehicle Tax Estimator.
Since initial fees and taxes are based on your vehicle purchase price, please keep in mind that registering your vehicle for the first time is significantly more expensive than simply renewing a current registration.
Drivers looking to customize their vehicles with personalized license plates should keep in mind that there are additional fees for this service. County message plates cost $40.00, while plates with the "Husker Spirit" graphic cost $70.00.
If you're looking to save some money, keep in mind that you do not have to pay registration fees on a vehicle that has been stored and not driven for at least one year. To reinstate your nonoperational vehicle's registration, you must submit an Affidavit for Storage and Non-Use to your local County Clerk. If your affidavit is approved, you'll be issued a new registration.
In Nebraska, vehicles should be registered in the county where they are located the majority of the time. To register your vehicle, you'll need to visit the county treasurer's office. No appointment is necessary, but you are encouraged to call (402) 471-3918 or email email@example.com if you have questions about the necessary documentation or acceptable forms of payment for your registration fees.
When registering your vehicle, you'll be given the option to choose personalized or vanity plates featuring the message of your choice. See our section on License Plates for more information.
License plate frames are another way to customize your vehicle. Frames can be purchased featuring your favorite hobby, sports team, or special interest.
Once your documentation has been verified and you've paid all the necessary fees, you will be given a registration certificate, license plates, and validation tabs. Affix the stickers to your license plates. Carry the registration certificate in your vehicle, along with proof of insurance.
The IRS considers vehicle registrations a deductible personal property tax expense. If you itemize deductions on your return, this can help save you some money. Review page 146 of IRS Publication 17 for more information. A qualified tax attorney can also provide advice about how to claim this deduction on your income tax return.
Registering your vehicle is legally required, but thinking of ways to help yourself stay safe on the road is just plain common sense.
Finding a mechanic you trust is important for any driver. If you are worried about the cost of unexpected vehicle repairs, looking into purchasing after-market auto warranties may be a smart move. If you're driving an older vehicle or you lack the skills to handle an emergency on your own, a roadside assistance package can be useful as well.
A quality child safety seat is a necessity for any parent, but it's not the only accessory available for those who are concerned with safety on the road.
Auto emergency kits and hands-free headsets are useful for all drivers and make great gifts for young people who have just received their first license.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.