Paperwork When Selling a Car in NebraskaCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
When you sell your vehicle, provide the buyer with:
- A notarized bill of sale. This document provides the buyer with a receipt for the transaction and gives you proof that you are no longer the legal owner of the vehicle.
- The title, signed over to the new owner.
- A Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales (Form 6), available from the Nebraska DOR or a county treasurer's office.
If selling a vehicle fewer than 10 years old, you must give the buyer a signed statement certifying the odometer reading at the time of his purchase.
For your convenience, you can download an Odometer Disclosure Statement from the Nebraska DMV website. If you are unable to determine the odometer reading for the vehicle, you must request that the title list the reading as either "Not Actual" or "Exceeds Mechanical Limits."
Remove your license plates and save them for use on your replacement vehicle.
If you have questions about the procedure for selling your vehicle, please call the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles at (402) 471-3918.
The seller doesn't need to provide the registration certificate to the buyer; just the title. If it's lost, apply for a duplicate title.
There is no law requiring sale notification. However, if you want to apply for a registration refund, you'll need to surrender the sold vehicle's license plates to your county treasurer within 60 days of the sale.
The buyer will need a notarized bill of sale. You can easily download a copy from our Bill of Sale page.True or False
Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.