Dealer Licensing in Nebraska
In Nebraska, the Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board is responsible for licensing and regulating people and businesses involved in the buying and selling of cars, trucks, trailers, motorcycles, and other vehicles.
Before you can open a business buying and selling motor vehicles, you'll need to obtain a dealer's license. Applications for the dealer's license are available online. (To print the document, you'll need to use the free Adobe Reader software.)
The dealer's license application asks for the following information:
- The name and contact information of the business owner
- The name and contact information of any partners or corporate officers
- The company's location, size, and office hours
- The type of motor vehicles you plan to sell
Once you've completed the dealer's license application, you'll need to gather the requested supporting documentation. You'll need a corporate surety bond of $50,000, zoning permit, a certificate of automobile liability insurance/worker's compensation, and copies of your contracts with auto manufacturers or distributors.
The department has provided a comprehensive information sheet with instructions for filling out the application.
The Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board requires separate licenses for auction dealers, wrecker/salvage companies, finance companies, and manufacturers, distributors, or branch representatives. To learn more about these types of licenses, please call the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board at (402) 471-2148.
According to Nebraska law, you must have a valid salesperson's license before you can legally work in the business of selling motor vehicles. Applications for the salesperson's license are available online. (You'll need the free Adobe Reader software to print the document.)
The salesperson's license application asks for the following information:
- Your name, date of birth, address, and phone number
- Your criminal record, including any felony or fraud convictions
- Your employment history, including the name and address of your motor vehicle dealer you plan to work for
You should not send any money with your completed dealer's license application. The licensing fee of $200 is not due until after your application has been approved.
If you are applying for a salesperson's license, you should submit a check or money order for $10 with your completed application.
If you have questions about licensing fees, please call the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board at (402) 471-2148.
No matter what type of license you need, filling out your application correctly will increase your chances of approval. The Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board recommends the following:
- To avoid making mistakes that could delay the processing of your application, read the instructions carefully.
- As you're filling out your license application, take care not to omit any necessary information.
- Before you submit the application, proofread your work to make sure all addresses and phone numbers are correct.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.