Traffic Tickets in North DakotaPage Overview
North Dakota Traffic Tickets
If you receive a traffic ticket in North Dakota, make sure you're aware of all the options you have to take care of it. Read your traffic ticket carefully make special note of the date and amount you are required to pay. You will usually be offered the option to either pay your traffic ticket (plead guilty) or request a court hearing to contest the fine.
If you receive a traffic ticket in North Dakota, you have one of the following options:
- Pay the traffic ticket.
- Request a court hearing.
Regardless of which option you choose, you will need to send your payment in the provided bond envelope within 14 days of receiving your traffic ticket. Remember to include the actual citation with your payment.
To contest your traffic ticket, you must fill out the appropriate section on your traffic ticket and request a court hearing. You will receive your payment back if the court finds you not guilty.
NOTE: If you don't want to request a court hearing, you can pay your fine online using a credit card.
In North Dakota, the Highway Patrol may issue you a written warning that is slightly different from a traffic ticket. Written warnings are usually given for minor violations and some require you to take further action.
For example, you may receive a written warning for having a busted tail light. The officer will specify the date you must have it fixed by. If you are pulled over after this date and your tail light is still out, you will likely receive a traffic ticket and be required to pay a fine and/or appear in court.
Committing traffic violations not only results in receiving traffic tickets, paying fines/court costs, and endangering yourself and others, it can also result in a suspended or revoked ND driver's license.
Every time you receive a traffic ticket points are assessed against your North Dakota driving record. The number of points you receive depends on how severe your offense was. If you're 18 years old or older, once you receive 12 points or more, the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) will suspend your driver's license.
If you're younger than 18 years old, once you receive 6 points or more, your North Dakota driver's license will be revoked.
Some common violations and their associated points include:
- Speeding: Up to 15 points depending on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were driving.
- Illegal parking: 1 point.
- Reckless driving: 8 points.
- Driving without a valid driver's license: 4 points.
For more information about driving record points and how to remove them, visit our following pages:
Whenever you receive a traffic ticket and points against your ND driver's license, it's very likely your insurance premium will increase. Insurance companies assess your rates based on your driving history and whether or not you're classified as a "safe driver." Committing moving violations tarnishes your record and your insurance agent will raise your rates accordingly.
You may have the option of completing a defensive driving course in North Dakota to prevent this from happening. See "Defensive Driving Courses" below.
Depending on your violation, the NDDOT allow you to complete a defensive driving course (also known as traffic school) in order to:
- Have your traffic ticket dismissed.
- Avoid receiving driving records points.
- Reduce your car insurance premium.
For more information, visit our Defensive Driving in North Dakota page for more information.Other Topics in This Section
- Pay the traffic ticket.