Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in North Dakota

    Applying for a Teen License in North Dakota

    Getting a driver’s license for the first time is a monumental experience for any teen. The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) has a Minor Driver Licensing Law in place that applies to all teen drivers under 18 years old.

    This page outlines the stages you will need to complete as required by the law, and what you need to do to get your first North Dakota driver’s license.

    New to North Dakota?

    If you have recently moved to North Dakota, you must transfer your out-of-state driver’s license within 60 days of becoming a ND resident. You are a resident if you have lived in the state for 90 days consecutively and are NOT any of the following:

    • Non-resident student.
    • Tourist.
    • Non-resident Armed Forces member.

    To transfer your out-of-state driver’s license, visit a NDDOT office in person and:

    • Provide your Social Security number.
    • Prove your:
    • Present your out-of-state driver’s license, if you have it.
      • Your DMV written test and driving test may be waived.
    • Pay the $15 fee.

    For more information on transferring your out-of-state driver’s license, or to check if you can transfer your learner’s permit, contact the NDDOT.

    North Dakota GDL Program

    In an effort to minimize the risks associated with new drivers on the road, North Dakota requires all teenagers to complete certain milestones prior to obtaining a full driver’s license. Many of these important milestones are age- and experience-related.

    You are required to complete the following stages:

    • Learner's permit.
    • Minor’s restricted driver’s license/provisional.
    • Full, unrestricted driver’s license.

    Age Requirements

    • Learner's permit: 14 years old.
    • Minor’s restricted driver’s license/provisional: 15 years old.
    • Full, unrestricted driver’s license: 16 years old.

    North Dakota Learner's Permit

    The first step to getting your first driver’s license is applying for your ND instruction permit (or learner’s permit). You can apply once you turn 14 years old.

    Visit your local North Dakota DOT office and:

    • Provide proof of your:
    • Provide your Social Security number (SSN).
    • Pass a written test.
    • Pass a vision test.
    • Have your parent or legal guardian sign your application form.
    • Pay the $15 learner’s permit fee.

    Instruction Permit Restrictions and Next Steps

    Your ND learner's permit allows you to drive ONLY while supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old and has had 3 years of driving experience. Your supervisor must be seated in the front passenger seat.

    You must hold your learner's permit for a specified period of time before you can move on to your minor’s restricted driver’s license:

    • 14 years old to 15 years old: 1 year or until you are 16 years old, whichever comes first. (Must be at least 6 months).
    • Under 18 years old: 6 months or until you are 18 years old, whichever comes first.

    You also need to complete a driver’s education course. See our Driver's Ed in North Dakota page for more information.

    If you’re under 16 years old, you must ALSO complete at least 50 hours of driving practice.

    Restricted Provisional License

    In order to get your minor’s restricted driver’s license in North Dakota you must:

    • Be at least 15 years old.
    • Have successfully completed Driver’s Ed and 50 hours of practice driving, if you’re younger than 16 years old.
    • Have held your instruction permit for:
      • 14 years old to 15 years old: 1 year or until you are 16 years old, whichever comes first. (Must be at least 6 months).
      • Under 18 years old: 6 months or until you are 18 years old, whichever comes first.

    When you’re ready to apply, visit your local ND DOT office and:

    • Have your parent or legal guardian certify you have completed your 50 hours of practice driving.
    • Pass your driving test.
    • Pass a safe driving practices DMV written test.
    • Pay the $15 fee.

    Minor's Driver License/Provisional License Restrictions

    Your provisional license allows you to drive unsupervised at all times EXCEPT between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless for work, school, or religious purposes.

    Full Unrestricted Driver’s License

    Once you turn 16 years old, your provisional license will automatically become unrestricted. You will be able to drive unsupervised at any time of day or night.

    For more information about applying for your North Dakota driver’s license, see the:

    Organ Donation Survey

    Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?

    Yes No

    Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.

    Update Your Organ
    Donor Information ▸