Suspended CDL in North DakotaCompare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in North Dakota
If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified or suspended by the Department of Transportation (DOT), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to reinstate it.
Your CDL and total driving privileges may be disqualified/suspended for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Disqualifying violations include:
- Violating out-of-service orders.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol/drugs and other related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Speeding and reckless driving.
- Hit and runs.
- Using your vehicle to commit a felony.
- Driving without the proper endorsements.
- Driving your commercial vehicle without your CDL in your possession.
- Texting while driving.
- Railroad crossing violations.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
The duration of your commercial driver’s license disqualification will vary depending on your offense and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are suspended as well.
If you were convicted of a crime for your violation, you may also face additional court requirements.
When your North Dakota CDL is disqualified, or it has a pending disqualification/suspension, the North Dakota DMV will mail you a notice, which will include:
- The length of your disqualification.
- Details about your violation.
- Reinstatement requirements and fees.
Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:
- 1 year: 1st violation for a major offense, including:
- DUI or drug-related offenses.
- Blood alcohol content (BAC) test refusal.
- Leaving an accident scene or hit and run.
- Using your commercial vehicle (CMV) in a felony.
- 3 years: 1st violation while transporting hazardous materials.
- Lifetime: 2nd violation of a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days: Multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
- 60 – 120 days: Violations of railroad highway-grade crossing guidelines.
NOTE: In ND, you will be charged with a DUI and your CDL will be disqualified if you’re caught driving with a BAC level at or higher than 0.04%.
You must remember to notify your employer:
- Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense.
- By the end of the next business day after you receive your disqualification notice if your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked or cancelled.
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website provides information about federal commercial driver’s license regulations.
For specific information regarding your suspended CDL, please refer to your notice or contact the North Dakota DMV:
- By phone: (701) 328-2600.
- Online using the NDDOT contact form.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified if you commit a violation in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our page on Suspended Licenses in North Dakota.
Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status
Serious traffic violations and accidents may lead to:
- A CDL disqualification.
- North Dakota driving record points.
- A suspension of your total driving privileges.
If you accumulate too many driving record points, both your commercial and non-commercial driving privileges may be suspended.
Your total driving privileges will be suspended for 7 days for every point you accumulate after 11 points on your driving record.
You can order your driving record to check the status of your commercial driver’s license and your driving record points.
Depending on the circumstances of your offense, you may be able to contest your disqualification/suspension by requesting a North Dakota DMV administrative hearing.
NOTE: NDDOT hearings have no effect on court decisions.
To request an administrative hearing:
- Complete the online administrative hearing request form on the ND DMV website.
- You’ll need to provide your:
- Full name.
- E-mail address.
- Birth date.
- Commercial driver’s license number.
- Reason for your request.
- You’ll need to provide your:
If you don’t hear from the North Dakota DOT regarding your request within 2 business days, call (701) 328-2600.Contact a Local CDL Attorney
Find an experienced commercial driver's license attorney near you to help you with your traffic violation or DUI suspension.
The requirements to reinstate your disqualified commercial driver’s license will vary depending on your violation and whether or not you have also lost your non-commercial driving privileges.
To reinstate your CDL and your driving privileges, you may need to:
- Satisfy your court requirements, if applicable.
- Complete an alcohol education/treatment program, if necessary.
- Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests, if necessary.
- Pay your CDL reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your North Dakota CDL” below.)
Please refer to your disqualification notice or contact the North Dakota DOT for specific steps to reinstate your CDL.
You may be able to pay your reinstatement fees on the North Dakota DOT website. You’ll need to enter your:
- Full name.
- CDL number.
- Birth date.
NOTE: Your reinstatement fees must be paid in full when paying online.
Your North Dakota CDL reinstatement and licensing fees will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification/suspension.
- Alcohol-related suspension reinstatement: $100.
- Non-alcohol-related suspension reinstatement: $50.
For specific fees that may apply to your reinstatement, please refer to your CDL suspension notice or contact the ND Department of Transportation.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may need to pay any outstanding court fines and fees before you can reinstate your license.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Department of Transportation accepts the following forms of payment to reinstate your CDL.
Other Topics in This SectionCompare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
- In person:
- Credit/debit card. (At some ND DMV offices only. Call your local ND DMV office to check.)
- Online: Credit/debit card only.
1. Enter Your Zip: