Safety Laws in North Dakota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Only riders 17 or younger are required to wear a helmet. Failure to do so will cost you two points on your license and $20 from your wallet.
There are no mandatory helmet laws for bicyclists.
As of March 2011, there are no restrictions on the use of cell phones or texting while driving.
Motorcycles are required to ride with headlights on during daylight.
Unlike some other states, you are not required to turn on your car's headlights when the windshield wipers are in use.
To report a drunk or an unsafe driver, dial *2121.
No rule specific to leaving unattended toddlers in vehicles exists. Local and state authorities, however, can still use their own legal discretion in issuing child negligence charges. A child left alone in a car could be subjected to death from the weather; an accident due to the child climbing out of the seat; and even kidnapping. In short, it's a bad idea.
There are no rules making it illegal to leave unattended pets in cars.
- All kids seven or younger must ride in either a booster seat or car seat.
- Seat belts may substitute for a booster or car seat, provided your child weighs 80 pounds or more and tops 59 inches.
- Lap belts may be worn instead, provided your vehicle only has lap belts and your child weighs 40 pounds or more.
- Kids between the ages of seven and 17 must either wear a seat belt or be seated in a child restraint. This applies to both the front and back seats.
- All drivers are responsible for making sure all of their passengers 18 or younger are properly secured. If found negligent, you will be fined $25 and have one point added to your driving record.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.