- Location: North Dakota
Renewing Your License in North Dakota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
You'll need to carry a valid license if you plan on driving on any public roads. So, be sure to pay special attention to your driver's license expiration date. You may renew up to 10 months in advance of the expiration date.
Of course, you're not allowed to drive without the proper insurance, either. Check our Insurance Center to locate a carrier and request some insurance quotes.
Your Class D (standard license) or Class M (motorcycle license) expires on midnight of your birthday every other year. (Commercial drivers should refer to our Renewing Your CDL article for information pertaining to their situation.) Drivers born in odd-numbered years will need to renew during odd-numbered years; drivers born in even-numbered years will need to do so in even-numbered years.
If you have some reason to question whether your license is still valid, you can always check your driving record.
You must renew your license in person at any driver license site.
You're not permitted to drive with an expired license. But you can wait up to one year after it expires to renew it without any penalties, except of course, the fines and points you are likely to incur if you're ticketed for driving on an expired license. If you wait longer than one year, you'll have to complete the testing process again. You can verify your license status at any time by buying a copy of your driving record.
Suspended license situations can sometimes be unclear, especially if you haven't kept your address updated and you haven't received the notification letters. If you're unsure about your driving status, you can always obtain your driving record to verify your situation. Also, remember that your insurance premiums will most likely go way up, so visit our Insurance Center to find the best rates available to you.
See our Suspended License article for information on how to deal with your suspension, including the reinstatement steps and costs.
If you need to obtain a duplicate license, stop by our Replacing a Lost License page to learn what you should do.
If the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) has your current address, you should receive a renewal reminder in the mail. However, you don't need to bring this card with you to the driver license office at renewal time.
The state doesn't allow online license renewals, so you'll have to renew in person.
When you come to the driver license office to renew your license, you'll need to:
- Bring your current license.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pay the $10 renewal fee.
Instead of taking the vision test, you may supply the office with a vision certificate from a physician or optometrist completed within the past six months indicating your eyesight falls within the driving requirement limits.
Members of the Military
If you happen to be out-of-state when your license expires and you're a current member of the armed forces, you're permitted to continue driving with your expired license as long as carry proof of your military status. Once you're no longer on active duty, you must renew your license in person within 30 days.
If you're temporarily living outside the state, you may apply for renewal by mail. This is a one-time courtesy offered by the NDDOT. You'll be sent a renewal packet, which you'll need to complete and send back. Call (701) 328-2600 for more complete instructions and information.
No matter your age, you can always learn something new or different about how to drive safely. A good way to do this is by completing a traffic school course. Doing so may even lower your insurance rates. Check with your provider to see if they offer that discount, or shop our Insurance Center to find ones that do.Other Topics in This SectionArticles