Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Renewing Your CDL in North Dakota

    Pass Your CDL Written Exam with
    DMV Cheatsheets!

    Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:

    • Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
    • Study When & Where You Want
    • 24/7 Online Access

    Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.

    When Do You Need to Renew?

    The Department of Transportation (NDDOT) adheres to a renewal term of 4 years for all commercial driver's licenses (CDLs) based on birthday.

    Renewal Process

    You should receive a renewal notice in the mail before your expiration date. To renew, you must visit any automated (full-service) Driver License site location, where you'll be asked to take a new eye exam. You can do this on-site or provide an exam statement from a state-approved optometrist. You may be asked to get a new medical exam.

    There is also a $15 renewal fee.

    When you renew, you may choose to upgrade your license class or add endorsements. To do either of these, you'll need to take the appropriate tests and pay an additional fee for each endorsement or upgrade listed.

    Hazmat Endorsement Renewal

    Renewing your hazardous materials endorsement takes some effort. Before you renew, you must pass a hazmat threat assessment and hazardous material knowledge (written) test. If you fail the test, you will be allowed to renew your CDL. But you will not be allowed to transport placarded hazardous materials until you pass the exam again.

    In addition, you must take another background check. Due to the amount of time it takes for background checks, you should arrange for this at least a month before your endorsement expires.

    For hazmat questions you can call (877) 429-7746.

    New Federal Requirements

    You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the NDDOT. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

    • Non-Excepted Interstate
    • Excepted Interstate
    • Non-Excepted Intrastate
    • Excepted Intrastate

    If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must, in addition to a completed self-certification application, provide the NDDOT with a federal medical certificate.

    Questions? Call (701) 328-2600.

    Compare Commercial Insurance
    Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Related Content

    Provide Feedback

    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.

    Find Your
    Local NDDOT Office
Looking for Renewing Your CDL in Another State?