DMV Point System in North Dakota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Points may be good in sports but not in driving, especially when it pertains to your driving record. The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) adheres to a point system for ferreting out reckless drivers.
Under North Dakota's system, points are added to your driving record with every moving violation. For instance, if you get flagged driving on the wrong side of the road, not only will it cost you in the wallet but you'll also have two points added on to your driving record. If you accumulate 12 points or more your driving privileges will be suspended. If you're younger than 18 your margin for error is less; top six points and your license will be canceled.
The length of your suspension will be based on the number of points on your record. Every point above 11 will count for seven days. So, for the sake of example, if you amass 16 points that will equate into a 35-day license suspension.
In addition to the ouch of an immediate fine, you could also face jacked-up insurance premiums. All insurance companies are kept abreast of violations by the police force. And once you get pegged as a reckless driver, you will always face higher car insurance rates, regardless of where you live or how safely you drive for the rest of your life.
- Failure to display license plate―1 point
- Causing accident with an emergency vehicle―2 points
- Ignoring the commands of a police officer―2 points
- Driving with an open container of alcohol in the vehicle―2 points
- Failure to stop at a railroad crossing―3 points
- Driving without a license―4 points
- Passing a flashing school bus―6 points
- Reckless driving―8 points
- Fleeing the scene of an accident involving property damage―14 points
- Fleeing from a police vehicle―24 points
- Exceeding speed limit by 16 to 20 mph in a speed zone less than 70 mph―3 points
- Exceeding speed limit by 36 mph in a speed zone more than 70 mph―15 points
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the NDDOT. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV Point System Basics: What Are Points and How Do I Get Rid of Them?
- The Perils of Accumulating Driving Record Points
- How Long Points Stay on Your Driving Record
- Actions That Lead to the Loss of Driving Privileges
- How to Check Your DMV Points
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.