Motorcycle License in North Dakota
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Before calling the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) for your motorcycle license exam, be sure you understand what is required. Consulting NDDOT's 52-page Motorcycle Operator Manual will serve as your best tutor. If you're computer-hesitant, you can visit any state Motor Vehicle office and pick up a manual for free.
- You must be a North Dakota resident at least 14 years old.
- As a motorcycle operator, North Dakota requires you to carry a regular driver's license with a Class M endorsement.
When you arrive at any Driver License site location you will be required to:
- Furnish proper identification (see below).
- Provide your Social Security number.
- Pass an eye exam.
- If you do not have a valid Class A, B, C or D North Dakota license you will be required to pass a regular driver's license (Class D) written test before being allowed to take the written exam for the Class M endorsement.
- If you are younger than 18, you will need your guardian or parent to sign your Class M permit application.
- Pay $5 for each written test.
When applying you will need to furnish proof of identification (no photocopies). You'll need documents showing your current name and date of birth. NDDOT will accept the following:
- U.S. birth certificate
- Valid U.S. passport
- Valid foreign passport with an I-94 card or an I-551 stamp
- U.S. government-issued consular report of birth abroad
- Military identification card or common access card
- U.S. court order―with court seal―displaying legal name and date of birth
If you're an immigrant you will need to furnish:
- I-551 resident alien or permanent resident card
- I-688 temporary resident card
- 1-688B, I-766 employment authorization card
- N560 certificate of citizenship
- N550 certificate of naturalization
- I-94 card stamped refugee or asylee
If you pass, you'll be issued a Class M permit, which will allow you to operate a motorcycle during daylight and without passengers. The permit is valid for six months.
Once you're ready to take the road exam (skills test), make an appointment with a Driver's License and Testing location and arrive with:
- Your own motorcycle, which must pass a pre-test equipment inspection.
- Your Class M permit.
- Check or money order to pay a $5 test fee and, if you pass, $8 for your endorsement.
- You must provide proof that you are enrolled in or have successfully graduated from a state-approved motorcycle safety course.
- You must own a Class M permit for a minimum of two months before you'll be allowed to take the road test.
- If you meet the both requirements, your road test requirement may be waived at the discretion of the state.
- Riders who are 14 and 15 years old are limited to motorcycles with 250 cc engines or less.
- If you are 18 or younger, NDDOT requires riding with a state-approved helmet.
- Call the Driver's License and Testing location if there's inclement weather on the day of your exam. Depending on conditions, they may cancel your appointment and re-schedule your test for another day.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting