Lost Traffic Ticket in North Dakota
If you lost your ND traffic ticket, you may be able to search online for your lost ticket information.
Otherwise, you'll need to contact your district court (for tickets issued by the Highway Patrol or Sheriff Department) or municipal court (for tickets issued by the local Police Department). Be sure to ask for your ticket fines, court date/deadlines, and payment methods.
The information found below provides suggestions on how to find a lost traffic ticket that was issued in North Dakota. This type of ticket citation is a result of a moving violation such as a red light ticket or a speeding ticket. In certain situations, the information may also relate to a lost parking ticket, but it's best to confirm this with your local court.
To find your lost traffic ticket information for your moving violation, you will need to contact the ND court that was listed on your traffic citation. This requires determining where you were ticketed. If you can't pinpoint an exact town, determine the county.
Knowing the citing law enforcement agency will help. In North Dakota, traffic tickets issued by the Highway Patrol or Sheriff Department are filed with the district court from the county in which you were ticketed. Traffic tickets issued by local police officers are handled by the municipal court of that specific city or town. If you were ticketed near a North Dakota municipality, but can't recall the citing law enforcement agency, you may have to make two calls (county court and the municipality court) before finding the correct presiding court.
Because you only have 14 days from the date on your lost ticket to enter a plea for your traffic violation, you must act fast. The court will not accept not being able to find ticket information as an excuse for entering a late ticket plea.
Call the court clerk. If you don't have the citation number, the clerk will use your name to track down the lost ticket. The court can provide a copy of your ND lost traffic ticket, which will have full instructions on how to respond.
After you find the traffic violation information you need, you have two plea options to your citation in North Dakota:
Regardless of your plea, you must post bond within 14 days of the date on your ND traffic citation. You may do this either by mail or in person.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
- Possible option to attend driver training course and reduce points.
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!