Drivers Ed in North Dakota
Completion of a North Dakota Drivers Ed course is suggested and often required prior to obtaining your learner's permit, and ultimately receiving your Driver's License. Although not approved for the state of North Dakota, I Drive Safely is a good course to prepare yourself for your state's licensing exam.
If you are 14 or 15 years old, and just chomping at the bit to start your life as a driver, you are required by law to complete a state-approved driver's education program before you can take the road test.
To get a jump on the class, you can download the North Dakota Department of Transportation's (NDDOT) Rules of the Road. It's chock-full of information designed to help you learn all about driving―and gain your license.
Most high schools and colleges offer driver education classes. Before enrolling be sure that the class is state-approved. If you arrive at a Driver License site location with a certificate from a generic online class, you will not be allowed to test.
State-approved classes offer 30 hours of classroom teaching and a minimum of six hours of supervised road training. Upon successfully completing the course, you will be handed a certificate of completion. Hang on to this. You will need to bring the certificate with you on the day of your road exam.Local Drivers Education
Choose a County
- Golden Valley
- Grand Forks
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.