Commercial Driver FAQs in North Dakota
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
If I move to North Dakota, how many days do I have before my out-of-state CDL is deemed invalid?
You have 30 days to apply for a North Dakota CDL. If you don't, your out-of-state CDL will be considered illegal.
Are there CDL exemptions for North Dakota farmers driving farm equipment?
Yes, and they are:
- Any farmer driving a two-axle, tandem axle, or truck-tractor farm vehicle for the purpose of moving farm machinery, produce or farm supplies within 150 miles of his or her farm does not need a CDL.
- Any farmer transporting hazardous material within 150 miles of his farm does not need a hazardous material endorsement.
With the allowed hours of service always changing how can I keep pace with what's legal?
Call the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration at (701)-250-4346.
How often do I need to get a medical examination?
You are required by law to be examined every 24 months.
Are studded tires allowed in North Dakota?
They are allowed from October 15 to April 15. School buses, however, are allowed to employ studded tires any time of year, as long as they are moving school children.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.