- Location: North Dakota
Dealer-related Information in North DakotaPage OverviewThe North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) serves as your best authority for gathering dealer information. You can call NDDOT at (701) 328-2600 and be assured of receiving a real voice to either answer your question or direct you to the proper person. Or for a list of current laws jump on to NDDOT's website.
After selling a vehicle, by law, you have 15 days to deliver the certificate of title either to the buyer or to the buyer's lienholder.
If you sell used vehicles, refrain from even entertaining the idea of altering the odometer. If you get nabbed you could lose your dealership license and be charged with a Class C felony.
All dealership licenses need to be annually renewed before December 31st of every year. NDDOT will not renew yours if you failed to sell more than four vehicles during the previous 12 months. And be sure to maintain detailed files on every vehicle sold to protect yourself against inspections and consumer complaints.
Avoid false advertising. The North Dakota Attorney General's Consumer Fraud Division will drop the hammer if you are caught making false claims on prices, free gifts, guaranteed trade-ins, below market finance rates, hidden disclosures or extended warranties. If caught you could be fined up to $5,000 and have your license suspended.
The North Dakota Attorney General's Consumer Fraud Division will also come knocking on your door if you are caught or even suspected of adding items (like undercoating or an extended warranty) to a contract without the buyer's consent.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard