Lemon Law in North Dakota
North Dakota Lemon LawPurchasing a car, for most, is a financial burden that can also be a somewhat of a gamble. To protect you from being burdened with a manufacturer's mistake, North Dakota's Attorney General maintains a vigilant stance toward enforcing the state's lemon law.
Basically, the North Dakota lemon law allows vehicle manufacturers a reasonable number of attempts to try to fix a major defect before they are required to refund your purchase or replace your defective vehicle.
On this page you'll find information about the general aspects of the North Dakota lemon law and what to do if you end up with a lemon.
If you need legal advice, you should consider contacting an attorney.
The North Dakota lemon law applies to new vehicles that are still under the manufacturer's warranty and have been found to have a defect that:
- Hinders the vehicle's normal operations.
- Makes the vehicle unsafe to drive.
- Significantly lowers the market value of the vehicle.
If it's been determined that your leased vehicle is a lemon, the law empowers you to be fully reimbursed for all payments and the security deposit.
North Dakota's lemon law does not cover motorcycles, used cars, or motor homes.
Before you take any legal action, you'll need to try to fix the defect with your vehicle's manufacturer or its authorized dealer.
If you have questions, contact the North Dakota Attorney General's office at (701) 328-3404.
North Dakota Lemon Law Procedures
Before involving the courts and justice system, make sure your car fits the state's lemon law definition. According to the North Dakota attorney general, you have a lemon on your hands if:
- After giving the car dealer 3 attempts to correct the problem, the defect still exists and is so troublesome that it impairs your vehicle's value and use.
- The vehicle has been out of service for at least 30 business days.
- The dealer or manufacturer has been notified of the problem within 1 year of purchase or during the warranty.
NOTE: As you go through the process of attempting to repair your vehicle, be sure to keep records of all of your service orders, receipts and any correspondence you may have had with the manufacturer or the authorized dealer/service facility.
Before summoning the Attorney General, first try to square a settlement through the manufacturer's arbitration system.
Many vehicle manufacturers have informal dispute settlement programs. For more information, contact your vehicle's manufacturer or refer to your owner's manual.
If the vehicle manufacturer's informal arbitration program fails to meet your satisfaction, you should hire an attorney and sue. If you choose this option, you must initiate legal action within 6 months of either the warranty's expiration or 18 months of the vehicle being delivered to you originally.
Under state law you have the right to demand for either a new vehicle of similar value, or a full refund on the price you paid.
heroes have registered as organ donors.