- Location: North Dakota
Accident Guide in North DakotaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
In North Dakota a reportable traffic accident occurs every 33 minutes. Crashes are a fact of the road, making it imperative for you to know what to do and whom to call should you pop an air bag.
If you're involved in a crash that causes human injury or death, or totals $1,000 or more in damages you must immediately contact local law enforcement. If the crash occurred within a municipality call the local police. If it happened outside of a city either dial the Highway Patrol or the County Sheriff's Office.
And whatever you do, do not leave. Fleeing an accident that you're involved in, especially one that results in death, is considered a crime.
Be sure to exchange your name, contact information, and insurance carrier with all involved drivers.
If a spouse, a child, or a friend gets involved in an accident while driving a vehicle you own, and is incapable of reporting it, you are responsible for notifying the insurance company within five days of the accident.
If you hit an unoccupied vehicle look for the owner. If you cannot locate him or her leave a note on the windshield containing your name, phone number, address, and insurance company.
To obtain of copy of your accident report complete an aptly named Request for Crash Report Information and mail it to:
- Drivers License and Traffic Safety Division
- North Dakota Department of Transportation
- 608 E. Boulevard Ave.
- Bismarck, ND 58505-0700
Be sure to include a check for $2 if you only want the report, $5 if you only want the reporting officer's opinion, or $7 for both the report and opinion.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard