- Location: North Carolina
Plate Surrender in North CarolinaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
There are certain situations that require surrendering your North Carolina license plates. For more on these and other plate-transferring scenarios, read on for the full scoop.
After moving to North Carolina you must register your vehicle at the expiration of the time granted by the reciprocity agreement between your former state and North Carolina (this usually falls in the 30-day range) or when you begin employment, whichever occurs first. Register at your county’s local DMV office. You do not have to surrender your old license plates unless required by your former state.
For more on North Carolina and everything it has to offer visit our relocation guide.
After moving, you must surrender your North Carolina license plates. Do this in person, at any DMV office, or, if you’ve already moved, mail the plates to:
- DMV Vehicle Registration Section
- Mail and Distribution Unit
- 3148 Mail Service Center
- 1100 New Bern Ave.
- Raleigh, NC 27699-3148
Know what to expect before moving. Visit our Moving Out of North Carolina page.
The license plates stay with you, the seller. After removing the license plates you can transfer them to another car under your name provided it's of the same vehicle type and has a current inspection. If the vehicle is of the a different type, surrender the plates to the DMV.
Check out our Vehicle Title Transfers page for more detailed information.
As buyer you do not have to surrender the car's plates. The seller will remove them before handing you the keys. You're responsible for transferring the title within 28 days of the sale date and registering the vehicle and obtaining permanent license plates.
Learn more about the selling process on our Vehicle Title Transfers page.Other Topics in This Section