Motorcycle License in North Carolina
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
If you thought driving a car spelled freedom, wait until you drive a motorcycle for the first time. If the thrill of driving on two wheels with the wind in your hair appeals to you, then a North Carolina motorcycle endorsement on your license is what you need.
Riding a motorcycle is fun, but it also comes with risks. Learning all you can before riding a bike the first time will prepare you for the unique challenges that face motorcycle drivers.
Whether you have a full provisional (Level Three) driver license, a regular license, or a commercial driver license, you are eligible to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. The steps are the same as for any other endorsement or learner's permit in North Carolina. If you are at least 16 years old but younger than 18, you must also get your parent or legal guardian to sign for you.
There are additional tests required also. For example, you will have to take and pass a written motorcycle knowledge test in addition to the vision and signs test you take for any driver license. You must also take and pass a driving skills test on a motorcycle so the examiner can assess your abilities.
The fees for a motorcycle endorsement are $1.75 per year. A learner's permit will cost you $15.
If you are not prepared for it when you take your regular road test, you can instead get a motorcycle learner's permit before you receive your endorsement. The permit will give you time to learn how to ride.
Many motorcyclists are self-taught, but you can also get formal training. With driver's ed, you can gain more knowledge and practice driving your motorcycle while supervised. As with driving any other type of vehicle, with practice you will get better and build confidence. A course will also teach you about riding safely, and other tips you wouldn't necessarily pick up on your own.
The Motorcyclists' Handbook details licensing and registration requirements as well as motorcycle-specific driving tips and laws you should know. Read it thoroughly and become familiar with the rules of the road.
You should also read the regular Driver's Handbook if you have not already done so. You can apply for your motorcycle endorsement or learner's permit at any North Carolina driver license office. Locations and hours vary, and you do not need an appointment to take the written test.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting