Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in North Carolina
Motorcycle riding can unfortunately lead to some costly, horrendous accidents. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires cyclists to prove they're capable of handling the possible expenses associated with riding a motorcycle by having acceptable levels of motorcycle insurance.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
You can purchase a liability policy that meets the state's minimum coverage levels to properly insure your motorcycle.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
Unsure about whether your cycle qualifies as a motorcycle and needs to be insured? Call the DMV at (919) 715-7000 to find out.
North Carolina Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
According to North Carolina's mandatory insurance laws, you must have liability motorcycle insurance for your registered bike.
By maintaining at least the following levels of coverage on your policy, you'll meet the mandatory insurance requirements:
- $30,000 for bodily injuries or death to one person in a single accident.
- $60,000 for bodily injuries or deaths to more than one person in a single accident.
- $25,000 for property damage occurring in a single accident.
As you get your motorcycle insurance quotes, keep in mind that the above numbers are only the minimums. You have to option of purchasing higher limits if you feel you need more financial protection.
In addition to the liability insurance, most motorcycle insurance companies offer optional types of coverage to help pay for costs associated with your own bike's damages and injuries you suffer. Some optional coverages include:
- Collision - For damages to your motorcycle after and accident.
- Comprehensive - For damages to your motorcycle for several incidents that are not accident-related.
- Medical payments - This will help pay for medical costs if you are hurt in a crash.
- Towing and labor - Helps provide and pay for emergency roadside assistance and towing.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
While your motorcycle insurance company is required to notify the DMV when you start―and stop―your vehicle liability coverage, you still must be ready to show your proof of insurance when requested. You can do this by providing your insurance card.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
What if you let you insurance lapse and have no proof of insurance? That depends on your circumstance.
Your insurance company will alert the DMV about your situation. That automatically triggers a Form FS 5-7 notice being sent to you. If you did have a time gap in your insurance coverage, you must reaffirm your current coverage, pay the fine listed by the DMV, and mail the completed form to the DMV within 10 days from the date on the letter.
Failing to do so likely means your plates will be suspended for 30 days.
To reinstate your plates, you'll need to wait the required amount of time. Then, you'll have to pay at least a $50 fine, a $50 service fee, your license plate fee, and complete FS-1 indicating your current motorcycle insurance coverage.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!