Driving Records in North CarolinaPage Overview
- About Your NC Driving Record
- Types of North Carolina Driving Records
- Order a North Carolina Driving Record
- Driving Record Requests by Employers, Insurance Agencies, & Attorneys
- Fees for NC Driving Records
- Fix an Error on Your Driving Record
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/20/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Whether you're a North Carolina driver, employer, insurance company, or law enforcement officer, you can request a driving record through the NC Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Your NC driving record contains information on your:
- Driver license status and expiration date.
- Traffic accidents, violations, and convictions.
It can be used for:
- Background checks.
- Insurance claims and policy adjustments.
- Legal proceedings.
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers the following types of driving records:
- Certified true copy, which:
- Includes your complete NC driver history.
- Is used for court and legal proceedings.
- Non-certified complete extract copy, which:
- Contains your complete NC driver history.
- Is used by insurance companies.
- Is used by employers for background checks.
- A non-certified limited extract copy, which contains 3 years of your driving history in North Carolina.
You can order a North Carolina driving record:
- By mail.
- In person.
NOTE: Once the NC DMV receives your driving record request, it can take up to 10 business days to process.
Your driving record will contain the following information:
- NC driver's license number.
- Full name.
- Driver's license status and expiration date.
- Any felony convictions you have had.
- Your NC driver's license suspensions, revocations, and cancellations.
- Traffic accidents and violations.
Driving Records for Employment
Businesses can order North Carolina driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.Order Now »
Although you can order a driving record directly from the North Carolina DMV, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.
Remove Points From Your Driving Record
Your North Carolina driving record will show the number of points you've received from traffic violations and accidents. Points on your driving record can lead to fines or fees, suspensions, and higher car insurance rates.
If you accumulate 7 points against your driving record, you may need to enroll in a $50 Driver Improvement Clinic. When you complete the course, 3 points will be removed from your NC driving record.
NOTE: You are able to deduct driving record points by attending a driving clinic 1 time every 5 years.
- For more information on driving record points, please see our DMV Point System in North Carolina page.
- For more information on traffic schools and driving improvement clinics, please see our Traffic Schools in North Carolina page.
You can order your own or someone else's NC driving record online, by mail, or in person at any time.
Ordering your driving record allows you to keep track of your driving record points, check your driver license status, and make sure your record is accurate.
You can order certified and non-certified copies of North Carolina driving records online.
- A certified driving record will take up 10 business days to process before the North Carolina DMV mails it to you.
- Non-certified records can be printed or saved to your computer. You will not receive them in the mail.
To request a NC driving record online, visit the NC DMV online services page and provide:
- Driver license number.
- Date of birth.
- Social Security number (SSN).
- Your NC DMV online PIN.
- Payment. (See the “Fees for NC Driving Records" section below.)
By Mail or In Person
To request a North Carolina driving record by mail or in person, you'll need:
- A completed Driver Privacy Protection Act Request Form (DL-DPPA-1).
- Circle the appropriate exemption number that applies to your request.
- If you are requesting more than 5 driving records, you must also complete the addendum to the DPPA Request form (DL-DPPA-1A).
- Payment. (See the “Fees For a NC Driving Record" section below.)
NOTE: If you do not meet one of the authorized use exemptions, you must include a Driver Privacy Protection Act Authorization to Disclose Personal Information Form (DL-DPPA-2) completed by the driver on the record being requested.
Take the above to a NC DMV office in person, or mail it to:
Driver License Records
3113 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3113
You can order another person's North Carolina driver's driving history record if the purpose is for:
- Car theft, safety, emissions, alterations, or recalls.
- A civil, criminal, administrative/arbitral proceeding in court or a NC DMV agency.
- Statistical research that won't be published, redistributed, or used to contact people.
- Towing companies to notify vehicle owners of impounded cars.
- Insurance companies to investigate claims/fraud and adjust rates.
- Employers and businesses to verify information and conduct background checks.
To order a driving record in North Carolina, see the “Order a North Carolina Driving Record" section above.
The NC DMV may take up to 10 business days to process your request.
NOTE: If you are requesting multiple driving records, you must make your request by mail or in person.
It will cost you the following fees for a North Carolina driving record:
- Certified driver record: $11.
- Certified true copy (complete history): $11.
- Non-certified driving record: $8.
- Complete extract copy: $8.
- Limited extract copy: $8.
Accepted Forms of Payment
To order a NC driving record online, the NC DMV accepts payment by VISA, MasterCard, and Discover credit/debit cards only.
For transactions by mail, payment must be made by check or money order made payable to “NCDMV."
When requesting a driving record in person, the North Carolina DMV office only accepts payment by:
- Check or money order made payable to “NCDMV."
If you find an error on your NC driving record, you can notify the North Carolina DMV by using the online contact form.
Provide as much information as possible about the error and provide your:
- NC driver's license number.
- Phone number.
- Email address (optional).
NOTE: The NC DMV will notify you by email when they have responded to your request. If you do not provide your email address, you will need to check the status of request yourself.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section