Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended License in Montana

    Suspended License in Montana

    The Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) is charged with enforcing suspensions of your driver’s license in Montana. License suspensions can be costly to your lifestyle and finances.

    Read more to learn about license suspensions in Montana.

    About Your License Suspension in MT

    When your license is suspended, your driving privilege is removed for a specific period of time. Common reasons for driver’s license suspensions in Montana include:

    • Driving under the influence (DUI).
    • Refusing to test for blood alcohol content (violating implied consent).
    • Failing to pay fines for a violation.
    • Failing to appear in court.
    • Defaulting on a student loan.
    • Failing to pay child support.
    • Inability to safely operate a vehicle due to medical condition.

    The Montana MVD provides a full list of reasons for suspension.

    License Revocation

    Your license may be suspended in MT for specific reasons. All revocations go into immediate effect upon court conviction.

    During revocation, your license cannot be renewed or restored. You must wait for the revocation period to expire, meet all the licensing requirements, and then apply for a new license.

    In Montana, the following offenses will result in a driver’s license revocation of 1 year:

    • Conviction of a negligent homicide with a vehicle.
    • A conviction of a felony in which a vehicle is used.
    • Failing to stop and help at an accident scene that results in death or injury.
    • Making a false statement while under oath relating to the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle will cost you a one-year revocation.
    • Negligent vehicular assault involving a motor vehicle.

    Being a habitual traffic offender (getting 30 points or more in 3 years) will result in a revocation period of 3 years. For more information, see our DMV Points in MT page.

    Check Your License Status

    If you’re concerned about the current status of your license, you can check it today to make sure you avoid suspension.

    Your MT driver record will show you any points on your record, traffic violations, accidents, etc.

    INSTANT DRIVER STATUS CHECK
    Sponsored by BackgroundChecks.com

    Only $39.95

    * Denotes a Required Information

    First Name *
    Last Name *
    Date of Birth *
    License Number *
    Address *
    City, State, Zip *
    I have lived at this address for less than 2 years.
    Former Address
    Street Address *
    City, State, Zip *
     
    Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!

    Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes: Suspensions, Fines, Violations, Violation Codes, Driving Status, Points, License Classification, and Endorsements

    Motor Vehicle Report FAQ | View a Sample Report

    NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact MT MVD
    BackgroundChecks.com Logo

    Get your personal driver´s license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.

    MT Suspension Hearings & Appeals

    Unless your suspension or revocation is mandatory by law, you have the right to appeal to court for a loss of your driving privileges.

    You have 30 days after your license has been suspended to petition to appeal.

    For more information, contact the MVD at (406) 444-3933.

    Obtain a Restricted Montana License

    If your MT driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you might be eligible for a probationary license. If granted, this would allow you to drive to and from work, school, or medical appointments/treatment programs.

    To apply, you must complete an Application for Restricted Probationary License. For questions about this, and how to obtain a form, contact the Motor Vehicle Division at:

    Motor Vehicle Division
    Department of Justice
    Scott Hart Building, Second Floor
    303 North Roberts
    P.O. Box 201430
    Helena, MT 59620-1430

    You can contact the MVD customer service line at (406) 444-3933 for more information.

    Reinstate Your Suspended MT License

    After your suspension or revocation period ends, you will be eligible to reinstate your license. Understand, however, that to do so you will need to meet a range of requirements that, depending on your situation, may include:

    • Payments of all reinstatement fees.
    • Payment of all fines related to your offense.
    • Providing proof of auto insurance.
    • Completion of court-ordered treatment programs.
    • Installation of ignition interlock device.
    • Applying for a new license and taking any applicable exams.

    Contact the MVD Customer Service Center at (406) 444-3933 with questions about reinstatement.

    Fees for Suspended MT Licenses

    In order to reinstate your license, you will need to pay a fee to the MVD. Reinstatement fees are separate from any other fines related to your offense, and may vary depending on the reason for your suspension.

    To pay your reinstatement fee, send a check or money order payable to “Motor Vehicle Division” to:

    Motor Vehicle Division
    Records and Driver Control Bureau
    P.O. Box 201430
    Helena, MT 59620-1430

    Include the following information with your payment:

    • Full name.
    • Driver’s license number.
    • Date of birth.

    CDL Suspensions in Montana

    Commercial drivers are also subject to license suspension, and, in fact, are typically held to stricter standards. Common reasons for CDL disqualifications in Montana include:

    • DUI offenses.
    • Felony related to the operation of a commercial vehicle.
    • Railroad crossing violations.
    • Out-of-service order violations.

    Read our page on CDL Drivers in Montana to learn more.

    True or False

    Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.

    True False

    False

    Every doctors first priority is to save your life regardless of your organ donation status.

    More about Organ Donation ▸ Become an Organ Donor ▸