Safety Laws in Montana
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Riders under 18 must wear a helmet.
There is no statewide bicycle helmet law, but the Montana Department of Transportation (MDT) strongly recommends you wear one.
Headlights must be used:
- One half-hour after sunset until one half-hour before sunrise.
- When visibility, due to foul weather, is reduced to 500 feet or less.
Daytime headlights are required in Montana. A modulating headlight is permissable.
When riding at night, your bike must be equipped with a front white light and a red rear light that are both visible from 500 feet.
As of October 2011, there are no statewide laws prohibiting cell phone use or texting while driving. However, several municipalities have implemented their own bans:
- Billings―Prohibits texting and the use of handheld phones
- Butte―Prohibits the use of handheld phones
- Helena―Prohibits the use of handheld phones
- MIssoula―Prohibits texting (this also applies to bicyclists)
- Whitefish―Prohibits texting and the use of handheld phones
- Kids under six or weighing less than 60 pounds must ride in a federally-approved safety seat or booster.
- All other riders, regardless of age, must use a seat belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Dial 911 if you suspect a driver of being drunk or unfit to drive. Provide the vehicle's license plate number, make, model, location and travel direction.
In a non-emergency situation, you may report someone you suspect of being unfit to drive to the Montana Motor Vehicle Division. The more information you can relay about the individual and your relationship to that individual, the better.
- Motor Vehicle Division
- Records and Driver Control Bureau
- Department of Justice
- Scott Hart Building, Second Floor
- 303 North Roberts
- P.O. Box 201430
- Helena, MT 59620-1430
- (406) 444-3288
Call 911 if you sense that an unattended child left inside a vehicle is in danger. If possible, remain at the vehicle until authorities arrive.
Call either the local police or animal control unit if you suspect an unattended pet left inside a vehicle is in danger due to excessive heat or cold.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.