DMV Point System in Montana
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Getting points on your driving record is like getting a bad tattoo: both cause you to immediately say, "What was I thinking?" and both can be difficult and expensive to remove.
Montana's point system is based on those as defined in the State's Habitual Traffic Offender law. It's a clear-cut ordinance that states: if you accumulate 30 or more points within a three-year span, your license will be revoked for three years.Montana Point System
- Deliberate Homicide: 15 points
- Negligent Homicide: 12 points
- Negligent Vehicular Assault: 12 points
- Felonies (vehicular): 12 points
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI): 10 points
- Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .10 or higher: 10 points
- Driving while Suspended or Revoked: 6 points
- Reckless Driving: 5 points
- Drag Racing: 5 points
- Insurance Violations: 4 points
- Speeding: 3 points
- No Driver's License: 2 points
- Other Moving Violations: 2 points
Attempting to drive with a revoked license is a heavy gamble. If you do get caught driving as a Habitual Traffic Offender, you may be taken to jail, fined up to $1,000, and get slapped with an additional year of revocation.
On the positive side, should your driver's license be revoked the state will allow you to apply for a probationary license if you do meet all eligibility requirements. And as an added incentive, the state will also reduce its $200 license reinstatement fee by 50% if you provide documented proof you completed a department-approved rehabilitation program.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the MVD. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Any violation, even speeding, can cause ugly ramifications on your car insurance premiums. Each insurance company adheres to its own policies while taking into account your age and driving history. First-time offenders may be given a warning, but after a second violation you can be guaranteed that you will see a severe spike in your insurance rates.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV Point System Basics: What Are Points and How Do I Get Rid of Them?
- The Perils of Accumulating Driving Record Points
- How Long Points Stay on Your Driving Record
- Actions That Lead to the Loss of Driving Privileges
- How to Check Your DMV Points
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.