Motorcycle License in Montana
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Any prospective motorcycle driver can apply for an endorsement at any statewide exam station. But before you can obtain a motorcycle endorsement, you must first apply for a Montana driver's license. Getting your hands on a Montana Driver License Manual is strongly encouraged for it will educate you on all you need to know about the state's driving rules and regulations.
To qualify for your first driver's license you must:
- be at least 15 years old and have proof that you successfully completed a State-approved driver's education course. If you have not taken driver's ed you can still apply but only if you're 16 or older.
- provide a letter of parental consent if you're under 18 years old.
- pass three tests (written, driving, and vision)
- furnish proof of identity.
- provide solid evidence that you're a Montana resident.
- have proof that you're a United States citizen or that you are legally cleared to be residing in the country.
- pay the $40 license fee and the 50-cent endorsement fee.
If you simply cannot bear the thought of waiting until you turn 15 years old, you can apply for an instruction permit at 14 1/2. But to do so, you must also be enrolled in a traffic education class approved by the Department of Justice and you must be accompanied by an accredited driver ed teacher.
Because there has been an increase of motorcycle accidents during the last decade involving new and inexperienced drivers, the motorcycle testing process is extensive. The examination is divided into five sections: driving record review; physical aptitude review; and vision, written and skills tests.
The written test is extremely comprehensive. All questions are motorcycle related and are derived from information contained in the State's 42-page Motorcycle Supplement.
To take a motorcycle exam you must make an appointment at any driver exam station. Keep an eye on the weather. Road tests aren't allowed on wet roads. If the weather does cooperate, make sure the motorcycle you are testing on has:
- proper registration.
- at least one headlamp that casts a beam at least 500 feet.
- one brake that can be operated by foot or hand.
- working directional signals.
- a taillight that must be visible for at least 500 feet.
- a muffler that's without sound modifications.
- a license plate light.
- footrests for passengers.
- a horn audible for at least 200 feet.
If you fail the skills (road) test, all is not lost. You will still be issued a Motorcycle Learner's License that will allow you to operate a motorcycle―but only while under the immediate supervision of a licensed motorcycle driver. This license is valid for six months.
NOTE: You can schedule a test appointment online for the following stations: Billings, Bozeman, Columbus, Glendive, Great Falls, Hardin, Helena, Miles City, Missoula, Red Lodge, Sidney, Superior and Townsend.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.